Release Day Posts · Reviews

The Cost of Living by Rachel Ward // Blog Tour Review


Title: The Cost of Living by Rachel Ward

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 21st September 2017

Synopsis: When a young woman is attacked walking home from her local supermarket, Bea Jordan, a smart but unfulfilled checkout girl, is determined to investigate. Colleagues and customers become suspects, secrets are uncovered. While fear stalks the town, Bea finds an unlikely ally in Ant, the seemingly gormless new trainee, but risks losing the people she loves most as death comes close to home. The Cost of Living is a warm, contemporary story with likeable leads, an engaging cast of supporting characters and a dark thread running throughout.

divider-2461548_1280

Review:

This book was one of the best murder mystery books I’ve read in a very long time!

Ant & Bea are a duo that could give even the worst detectives a run for their money, but they do it in the best way! I loved everything about this book. The friendship between Ant, Bea and Dot was one of the best things. I loved how I felt so involved in their relationship, it was like reading about friends of mine.

The story overall was so clever and brilliantly written, not only was I constantly on edge wondering who was committing the crimes, but I absolutely loved the setting of Costsave, and how we got to see the daily life of them there. It felt so easy to immerse yourself in the story, and was so unique for a murder mystery.

I’ve never read about a crime in such a common situation that could easily happen, so it also added a bit of suspense that I never expected! The story was told in such a fun way in parts, it helped to lift the dark underlying story, and I loved it.

Everything about this book was written so well and the ending kept me on the edge of my seat, so much I couldn’t put it down!

A fun, deadly, and friendly murder mystery told in one of the most unique and exciting ways, this book is definitely the start of a series that is definitely going to be one to watch out for.

You can buy The Cost Of Living on Amazon UK here!

*NOTE: I was sent this book in return for an honest review and that is what I have written. All opinions are my own and are completely truthful.*

divider-2461548_1280

This was my stop on the wonderful blog tour for The Cost Of Living! I had so much fun, and I’m so honoured to be part of such a brilliant tour! Don’t forget to check out the other stops for the tour below:

The Cost of Living Blog Tour Banner.jpg

Until next time,

Keep Reading!

Meggan x

3 thoughts on “The Cost of Living by Rachel Ward // Blog Tour Review

  1. Pingback: September Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

