Reviews

Reflections by Briana Morgan // Review


Title: Reflections by Briana Morgan

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 10th June 2017

(Trigger warning – Rape)

A beautifully supernatural debut novel with a message that will leave you crying both tears of sadness and joy.

First of all thank you to Briana for sending me your wonderful novel! When I first started this book I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect. Little did I know that I would be in for the journey of a lifetime.

This book tells the story of Rama, a teenage girl who has been through a very traumatic event, leaving her with very low self-esteem, so much she can barely look in the mirror. Then after finding one of her classmates dead from a suspected serial killer, she unknowingly enters the world of shapeshifters. What follows is her struggle to find the killer, live with shifters, and learning to love herself once again.

I absolutely adore this book. From the first page I was completely taken by Rama and her personality. Her character has so many elements that were created and written so beautifully I think it would be hard not to love her. The writing of the novel itself was brilliantly creative, and gave away parts of Rama’s past slowly, so it keeps you guessing but also gives you hwat you want – information about the story.

The supernatural story including the shifters was so well thought out, and I loved how each individual part of the tribe had such unique personalities, and fit into the book perfectly. I was constantly guessing who the killer was, and the development of the characters to all become more like family to Rama and help her was so special.

The underlying message about learning to love yourself after such a traumatic event like what happened to Rama was done so brilliantly, I am in awe. Not only was her story so real and believable but the way it was written about was so raw. The way Rama was explaining how she doesn’t like her body, was so moving I felt myself well up. However following that after the journey she goes on through the novel, to see her developed character so strong and positive was absolutely amazing. I love how we got to see this transformation and follow along with her as she dealt with what happened in her own brilliant way.

It’s truly rare to find an author who can combine supernatural with real and raw subjects such as rape, but Briana has done exactly this, and she has done it perfectly. I wanted to read it all in one sitting, and there wasn’t one part of the book that I felt didn’t fit. The end left me so happy and emotional, I am in awe of this book.

With a paranormal plot suitable for any supernatural lover, and writing filled with emotionally wonderful messages to help teach people how to overcome their worst demons, this book is a masterpiece to say the least.

Reflections is out now to buy on Amazon UK here!

*NOTE: I was sent Reflections in return for an honest review and that is what I have written. All opinions are my own and are completely truthful.*

2 thoughts on “Reflections by Briana Morgan // Review

Leave a Reply

