Anticipated Releases · Recommendations · Reviews

Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff // Pre-Release ARC Review


Title:
Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 2nd June 2011

Mia is back in this explosive sequel to the Nevernight Chronicles. With more blood, more action and a heart stopping final chapter, you’ll be left praying to the Black Mother for more.

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Godsgrave, and after completely falling in love with Nevernight last year, I was ecstatic. After finishing Godsgrave, I can hands down say this is the best book I have read so far this year. My love for this series just constantly grows, and this book changes nothing about that.

From the first page I was hooked, and the fact Jay gives us a run down of everything that happened so far is one of the most useful things, I loved it. This series is always good at world building, but this book takes it to the next level. With beautiful descriptions of each city Mia ventures to, and awe-inspiring explanations of every arena, this book completely immerses you into the world of Mia Corvere.

Mia herself goes through so much, and if you didn’t love Mia and her resolve to do the best in honour of her family now, you will after this book. Her strong sense of love for her familia, and her interactions with characters both new and old are absolutely perfect. She has always been one of my favourite female characters, and this book has definitely moved her up to the top spot on that list.

The addition of Eclipse and Mister Kindly’s interaction both with each other, and with Mia is absolutely brilliant. The hilarity and light-heartedness that they both bring is such a breath of fresh air in the darkness of the story, it was a contrast that Jay created with utter perfection. There are so many heart-breaking and powerful scenes within this book, I couldn’t keep up with just how much I loved it all.

From the last couple of chapters I literally couldn’t put it down, I was so hooked and I just had to know how the book ended. Once I did get to the end, I instantly hit a book hangover because I just didn’t want it to finish! The ending was outstanding, the perfect way to lead on to the third book in the series, and keep you wanting more.

This book is one of the best sequels I have ever read, and does the Nevernight Chronicles complete justice. The writing style is once again absolutely amazing, and the inclusion of the notes at the bottom of the page are such a wonderfully personal addition, as they were in Nevernight, it really feels as though you’re part of the story and Jay is talking to you. The little notes are also dripping with sarcasm, which is probably one of my favourite things about any book, I love it.

From the characters development, to the way Jay describes everything within the story to such degrees of excellence, this book is definitely set to be one of the best books released this year. My love for this series is still evergrowing and I already want to re-read it. Mia Corvere, you are my hero.

Never Flinch, Never Fear, and Never Forget

Nevernight, the first book in the series is out now at all major outlets!

Godsgrave is available for preorder now, and will be released on 7th September 2017!

*NOTE: I was sent this book in return for an honest review and that is what I have written. All opinions are my own and are completely truthful.*

Leave a Reply

