Recommendations · Reviews

The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian // Review


Title: The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 26th April 2016

An emotionally charged coming of age story that will leave you in tears, and clinging to the memories of your hometown long after you close the book.

When I picked this book up, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect but whatever it was, this exceeded it. This beautiful book was written perfectly and from the start of the book I completely fell in love. The book follows the story of Keeley and the fact that her city, Aberdeen, is not only being sold from under everyone, but also it is slowly going underwater. This leaves Keeley with the emotional choices of leaving the only life she’s ever known, or staying and protesting the change with her dad, as the friends around her leave.

This book really hit me hard. It was one of the most realistic stories I’ve ever read, even though it was about a topic I’ve never experienced obviously! The character of Keeley felt so real, and I could really empathise with everything she had to go through. Her relationship with her friends were such an emotional rollercoaster, how the friendships and relationships changed throughout the events of the book felt so real, and I was constantly hoping for the best every time I picked it up.

Each chapter starts off with a forecast for Aberdeen which was such an interesting and fun touch to the narrative. It really immersed you into the story, and allowed you to see how the flooding happened day by day, I loved it.

The characteristic that Keeley did everything with the best intentions in mind, but it didn’t always turn out right was such a realistic aspect and I appreciated that. A lot of books don’t feel real enough to immerse yourself in, but this book had it all. I didn’t know what I wanted the end to be like but this was everything. I was sat for at least half an hour after I finished it in tears because I felt for everything each character went through and because I was just amazed at how beautifully this story was written.

This book was such a simple but moving coming of age story, and is definitely something that will stay with me forever. Thank you Siobhan for writing such a beautiful story, and such a wonderful story that will leave you thinking about it for a long while after it’s finished.

The Last Boy and Girl in the World is available now from all major outlets!

2 thoughts on “The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian // Review

    1. Yes definitely! It’s always one of the best things about reading, where for a while you become a whole different person! I really did, I loved this book so much it completely blew me away. I hope you love it as much as I did!

      Like

Leave a Reply

