Book Challenges · Weekly Book Memes

Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY Plan To)

Hi everyone!

So TTT is actually on a break at the moment over at The Broke and the Bookish, so I thought I’d go back and do some I haven’t blogged about before, because I miss this meme!! This weekly meme was started over at The Broke and the Bookish, so make sure to check out their page!

This weeks TTT post is about the books that were released in 2016 that I STILL haven’t gotten round to! I feel like I have a LOT for this, so here we go!

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

I have had this on my shelf literally since it came out, so I have no idea why I’ve never gotten round to it! I’ve heard such amazing things about it, and LOVE the covers (there are 3 different ones) so I need to get to it! Also I’ve been dying to read a Kendare Blake book, so even more reason to get to it.

 

The Diabolic by S.J Kincaid

This book was one of the most anticipated for a lot of readers last year, and once again I ended up buying it the week it came out but forgot about it (SEE THE COMMON THEME???). I will get to this soon!

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

Finally a book I haven’t owned since it’s release! I actually only bought this the other week, and I’m really desperate to get to it! It was so hard to find in bookshops in the UK, so why not reward myself for finding it, and finally reading it!

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

I still don’t own this!!! But I am so excited to one day read it, I can’t believe I still don’t own it yet! This book sounds hilarious and fun, and also combines my love for Sherlock Holmes, which is a win win to me!

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

HOW HAVE I NOT READ THIS BOOK? I’m so ashamed to say I haven’t yet, since I absolutely loved Red Queen! I remember that I was desperate for this book, but then got so distracted by other new releases I put it on the TBR pile and it got further and further down! I need to get to this so I can also read King’s Cage!

 

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer is literally one of the best authors in the world, and I have NO idea why I haven’t read this (another common theme!). I love Alice in Wonderland and this adaptation/prequel story of the Queen of Hearts is everything I’ve wanted, so this will definitely be moved up my TBR.

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

Once again, another Queen of retellings whose new book I haven’t read! I’m such a let down! I need to get round to this, especially as it was actually released early in the bookshop close to me, so I never used my extra time with it wisely!

 

 

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

I finally bought this at university before I left for the year, and although at the time I was determined to read it asap, I then got the new SJM book (ACOWAR!) and completely forgot about it! Can you blame me?? You know my love for her!!

 

Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

THIS HUGE BOOK KEEPS LOOKING AT ME WHILST I’M IN BED AND JUDGING ME. I need to get to this, if not just to stop the judging looks I see every night, I’M SORRY I HAVEN’T READ YOU YET I WILL.

 

 

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand

I don’t own this yet (YET), but I love history and well I love books, and this merges those two loves and also adds humour = I’m sold. I need to pick it up, but I don’t like the UK paperback (Bookworm Problems 101), so hopefully I will get to it eventually!

There we go! My Top Ten Tuesday for this week was definitely an eye opener! I discovered I have an addiction to buying new releases then putting them on the TBR shelf, only to ignore them for new releases, and that I have an issue with buying covers I don’t like! The real book lover issues really!

I hope you liked this post, leave a comment with what you thought of the books I chose, and if you’ve read them! Also if you’re still doing TTT while they’re on hiatus, comment with your TTT post, I’d love to read them!

Until next time,

Keep Reading!

Meggan x

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY Plan To)

  1. I still need to read Three Dark Crowns, Glass Sword and Truthwitch as well. I read The Crown’s Game earlier this year and really enjoyed it (though totally get what you mean about it being hard to find in the UK, if I hadn’t won a giveaway for it, I might never have got it. I nearly squealed when I found the sequel in Waterstones the other day!). I really loved Heartless when I read it last year, but didn’t really like Stealing Snow (hopefully you’ll like it better).
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/07/18/top-ten-tuesday-116/

    Like

    1. I found the first one in Waterstones and nearly squealed with happiness too! Waterstones is a true saviour! I’m so glad you liked Heartless! I can’t wait to read them, I’ll check your TTT now!

      Like

  2. From this list I’ve only read Truthwitch and Heartless, both of which I really enjoyed. I have The Crown’s Game on my shelf just staring at me so I will have to get to it soon. Good luck with reading these!

    Like

  3. I still need to read Three Dark Crowns, Heartless, Stealing Snow, Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, and My Lady Jane, too! I read The Crown’s Game, A Study in Charolette, Glass Sword, and Truthwitch last year! Hopefully you get to all of these books soon.

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Like

      1. For the most part! I adored Truthwitch and enjoyed The Crown’s Game, too. To me, Glass Sword wasn’t as good as Red Queen, but I’m still going to continue the series. As for A Study in Charlotte, I liked it, but I think I would have liked it more if had read/watched more Sherlock. My best friend LOVED it, though, and I’m still planning to read the rest of the series.

        Like

      2. I’m glad you enjoyed most of them! I always feel it’s rare to find a sequel better than the first, so I guess that’s understandable! I’m really glad to hear that, I can’t wait to get to them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

