Starr Gone Blog Tour // Interview with Kim Briggs & Excerpt!

Hi everyone!

Here’s my second post for the amazing Book Unleashed Blog Tour for Starr Gone! Kim was lovely enough to talk to us about her latest novel and the best things about being an author! She’s one of the kindest people, and I’m lucky enough to get the chance to share this interview with you! Here we go!

Q: What’s your inspiration for the character of Starr?

A: Starr’s a little bit of me from high school or at least the seventeen-year old girl I wanted to be. She’s together. She’s opinionated. She’s loving and she cares passionately. She kicks ass in school, but when the Organization decides they want her as assassin, she needs to figure out who she is and what she wants. In Starr Lost, Starr forms her own team, and they make a number of startling discoveries including who or what is behind the Organization. Starr thinks she’s beginning to make sense out of chaos. She’s wrong. In Starr Gone, she smashes into brick wall after brick wall. Her character, her friendships, and her relationship with Christian are put to the ultimate test. Will she snap and become the assassin General Treadwell wants her to be? I’ll never tell.

Q: Did you always know that this was the way the story would go (relating to including the grandparents and Jody and Sami)?

A: So I have a confession to make…Every aspect of the Starr Fall story arc came to me fully formed. I knew the trials that Starr would need to go through to test her grit and determination. I knew that Jody and Sami would return in Starr Gone. I also knew that her grandparents and the Organization would be tied to one another. There are more tests Starr will need to go through, but Di will be tested too. She’ll need to rise to be a leader or lose herself entirely.

If it’s any consolation to other writers, my current WIP series is not as easy—payback is a bitch.

Q: What is your favourite part of writing this series?

A: When I open the file for Book Four, it’s like falling back into a world I adore. Each character is my best friend. Coda makes me laugh. Ben is the steadfast, solid friend who will be there no matter what. Christian and Frank care about Starr and will do anything to protect her. Starr and Di are opposite sides of the same coin. Many reviewers have asked me how I can switch between them so fluently and keep their voices unique, and I think it’s because I know them both so well. Sometimes Starr might say something that sounds like Di and vice versa, but that’s normal when a friendship is as tight as theirs. So in short, every part of writing Starr Fall is my favourite.

Q: What is your favourite part of being an author?

A: To be honest, I live in denial. I see my books on the shelf. People ask me to sign them, but I try not to think about it too much. I guess it makes me anxious because I’m just me and I write books. The best part is when I get an email or a tweet from a fan screaming about their love for the series. The series builds with each book and the characters continue to develop and surprise the readers, so I love fangirls and fanboys. They are the GREATEST! It makes me think that maybe I am a writer who writes books that people want to read.

At a recent event, I had my Starr Fall banner set up. A female did a double take of my banner then me. “Are you? Are you Kim Briggs?” She gasped, and I said, “Yeah,” and she freaked, “Oh my gosh, I just added Starr Fall to my wishlist. I can’t believe it’s you. It’s really you.” That was awesome. That moment made it real.

Q: What is your advice for budding authors and writers?

A: Be stubborn. Work hard. There are many talented writers, but only the most tenacious become authors. There is no such thing as an overnight success. Even an outrageously successful debut began with years and years of writing, revising, and rewriting combined with several towers of books they read to get them to that moment.

Know I’ve got your back. Email me, and I’ll boost you up! Seriously, email or tweet me!

Q: I know you did research for this book and for the other books in the series. What’s the hardest part of the research? Is research something you enjoy?

A: Before I finally sat down and started writing, I joked that I was going to be a lifelong student. I love school. I love research. I am a booknerd to the nth degree. My family and I travel for much of the summer. We visit out of the way places that most people have never been too. I love capturing these special locations in my stories. I usually visit the local bookstore and buy local indie books depicting the area and sharing unique histories of the region. Cherokee, North Carolina, the hub of the Qualla Boundary is one of our favorite places to visit. We binge on local foods too—That reminds me, it’s time for a visit.

Q: What can we expect in the next book (only a brief outline)?

A: Di really leads the remaining team members. Starr will evolve through Book Four. She shifts from full-on resisting to something much more powerful. Rebecca will take a more active role—she’s actually the biggest surprise to the entire series. She wasn’t part of my original thought process for the Starr Fall series. She just kinda showed up and grew into this significant character the rest of the team relies up.

Q: When can we expect the next book to be released?

A: Don’t kill me but it won’t be until 2018. I’ve been working on some other projects this year and now, Inkspell Publishers schedule is full for 2017.

Find out more information about the tour and the book look below! Also don’t forget to check out the amazing giveaway at the bottom of the page!

A Starr gone. A team betrayed.
Starr Gone
STARR GONE
Kim Briggs
Series: Starr Fall Book 3
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, YA Romance, YA Thriller
Publisher: Inkspell Publishing
Publication Date: June 3, 2017
A Starr gone. A team betrayed.
You never know who your true friends are until a gun’s pointed at you. One will take a bullet, and the other will pull the trigger. Starr learned that lesson the hard way.
The perfect smile. A killer attitude. General Treadwell wanted nothing more than to turn Starr Bishop into the ideal assassin, but she’s far more valuable as Jessica Chamberlain, granddaughter and heir to Chamberlain Chocolates. Luckily, he’s found two enthusiastic replacements. They lack Starr’s intelligence, but no matter, they possess their own weapons of persuasion along with a flair for the dramatic, and that’s never a bad thing.
Di, along with Christian, Frank, Ben and Coda, are determined to keep Starr safe, but the depths of betrayal crack the very foundation of the team. When Starr becomes a pawn in a game of power, money, and manipulation, Di channels her WWSD (What Would Starr Do) to rally the team. She owes her best friend that much. No… More.
“I love this book so much and this series just won’t stop getting better and better!”
– Meggan Turner, Goodreads Reviewer

Purchase Links

Starr Gone Teaser

Excerpt from Starr Gone:

Starr

“Jessica, I assume you slept well,” Treadwell says. It makes no difference to him whether I slept well or not. It makes no difference to him if I ever sleep again. He doesn’t care if nightmares haunt my sleep. He doesn’t care if those nightmares follow me into my waking hours.

“We’re scheduled to meet with your grandfather late this afternoon. He has no idea the true nature of the visit. Once your identity has been confirmed, I’ll begin the negotiations. If all goes according to plan, you should be with your beloved grandparents by the end of the week.”

I sit stony-faced. Frank and Di always teased me about my easy tells. Treadwell and the rest of his men must never know what I’m thinking or planning. Revenge for my dad’s death will be sweet.

“Let me introduce you to the remainder of your new team— oh wait, you know them all quite well. In that case, get reacquainted,” he says. Sarcasm does not become him.

In stalks Sami and Jody. I knew Treadwell planned to thrust us together, but the last time I saw them, they were lip-locked with the boy I thought was the great love of my life. The room suddenly feels cramped like there’s no escape from the reality of it.

I am not ready for this.
I am not ready for them.

Starr Gone

Excerpt 5

 

Di

Ben slows the car down. We haven’t left the Qualla Boundary yet, but Christian plans to storm the dude ranch. Last night our carefully thought out, flawless plan was vetoed by Christian now that the light of day is upon us.

“It’s the only way,” he says. “Keep driving Ben. We can be there by seven if we leave right now.” The tone of his voice leaves no room for discussion. Ben however, takes executive powers into his own hands.

He stops the freshly painted silver van in front of a beige vinyl-sided house. With one sharp intake of breath from Christian, out walks a tall beautiful girl with almost black hair. The shade of it so rich and full, and so similar to Christian’s hair that it must be natural. “Ben,” he growls.

Ben grips the steering wheel. “We need help. No one knows her.”

She smiles as she climbs into the side door. “Hi,” she says, reaching out her hand to shake mine. “I’m Rebecca.”

“Di,” I reply.
“Hey, Becca,” Coda calls from the front.
“Hey, Coda, Ben,” she says. She shyly ducks her head as she turns to Christian. “Hi Christian.”

“Christian, it’s a bad idea,” I argue.

“Hi Bec. Thanks for offering to help, but we don’t need you. We’ve got the situation under control,” he says in an uncharacteristic, dismissive manner.

Rebecca narrows her eyes at him. “Ben told me you were not yourself. I am helping you Christian Evergood, and there is nothing you can do about it.”

Her dark eyes smolder with determination. I immediately soften to her. “She’s right, Christian. You need her.”
“I don’t need anyone except Starr,” he murmurs.

Rebecca drops her eyes, but I don’t miss the pinkness in her cheeks. I remember that feeling, that crushing weight when I realized that Christian fell for Starr instead of me. The realization that I left my home with all my cash and only a few belongings, traveled on a train than a subway than a bus for a boy I had a crush on.

I remember the anger I felt. The desire to break something that swarmed through me. I couldn’t understand why Christian cared more for Starr than he did for me, but he did.

He does.

Rebecca can try as she might to make him fall for her, but Christian and Starr orbit on the same axis. Two celestial bodies destined to return to each other.

Frank squeezes my hand. “You okay?” I squeeze his. “Yeah, yeah I am.”

Other Books by Kim Briggs

Don’t miss the first two books in the Starr Fall series:
Starr Fall
STARR FALL
Series: Starr Fall Book 1
When the Organization decides Starr would make the ideal assassin, she needs to escape the island and disappear. While in hiding she meets dark, moody, and dead sexy Christian Evergood. Christian makes Starr forget that the Organization is after her, but their lives are more entwined than either one realizes.
One Starr falls, and a killer rises!
Buy Links: Amazon | Kobo | Barnes & Noble
Related LinksStarr Fall Tour Graphic
Starr Lost
STARR LOST
Series: Starr Fall Book 2
A Starr falls, and a family is found.
On the run from the Organization, Starr and Christian find safety on the Qualla Boundary with their friends, Ben and Coda, but Starr needs answers. She owes her dear dead friends, Sami and Jody, that much. She forms a team of her own to fight the general and his recruits.
Life becomes tense on the Qualla Boundary, sparks fly, and the Organization is about to smash in their door.
Buy Links: Amazon | Kobo | Barnes & Noble
“Amazing, Amazing Must Read. Had me edging from my seat, wide eyed with what’s going to happen with each turn of the page.”
– Amazon Customer, Amazon reviewer

Giveaway

WIN
Starr Gone Giveaway Graphic
Be the lucky winner:
$10 Amazon Gift Card, Starr Gone Paperback and Swag
Contest runs from June 6 – 19, 2017.

About Kim Briggs

Kim Briggs

Kim Briggs once smashed into a tree while skiing. The accident led to a concussion, a cracked sternum, temporary notoriety as a sixth grader returned from the dead, and the realization that fictionalized accounts are way more interesting than just slipping on the ice.
An unhealthy obsession with conspiracy theories combined with a love of travel and happily ever afters led Kim to write her YA novel, Starr Fall, where a secret organization decides 17-year-old Starr Bishop is not only the model student, but the ideal assassin. While in hiding, Starr meets dark, moody, and dead sexy Christian Evergood. Cue the swoon worthy music. But it’s not all happily ever afters for Kim. Her NA novel, And Then He, explores the dark and scary corners of the human psyche. Following a night of innocent flirting with a handsome stranger, Tiffani finds herself in the midst of a nightmare she can’t escape. And Then He is available through Amazon and other major book retailers. Starr Fall released November 2016 with Inkspell Publishing, followed by Starr Lost in January 2017 and Starr Gone in June 2017. Her novella, Avalanche is part of the Valentine Kisses Anthology and released February 14, 2017.
When she’s not doing something writerly, Kim can be found jumping into snowdrifts with her three kids, husband, and dog. She’s careful to avoid trees.
Visit her website and sign up for updates: http://www.KimBriggsWrite.com
She shares writing love with her INK Sister Alison Green Myers at INK Sisters Write
Connect with her on these social media sites: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr

Book Tour Schedule

Follow the book tour from June 6 – 19, 2017.
Discover more features, excerpts, reviews, interviews, fun facts and other extras on the tour.
To check the latest tour schedule, visit the Starr Gone Book Page at Book Unleashed.
Starr Gone Tour Graphic

In partnership with
Book Unleashed Logo
I hope you enjoyed this post, I loved being part of this Blog Tour so much. Don’t forget to check out the Starr Fall series by Kim Briggs, and don’t forget to check out what blog is next on the tour here!
Until next time,
Keep Reading,
Meggan x
One thought on “Starr Gone Blog Tour // Interview with Kim Briggs & Excerpt!

  1. Pingback: Book Tour Highlights: Starr Gone by Kim Briggs - Book Unleashed

Leave a Reply

