Recommendations · Reviews

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman // Review

Title: Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 1st May 1990

A perfect balance between hilarity, brilliant story telling and an all round fun loving book about accidentally misplacing the Antichrist – what more could you want?

I had never read a Terry Pratchett book before but I already loved Neil Gaiman, so when my other half recommended this to me I was extremely excited. As soon as I finished it all I wanted to do was restart it and devour it all over again, I loved it.

Right from the first page I was hooked, this book has such a way of pulling you in without you even realising it’s a marvel. I loved how throughout the entire book it mixed hilarious moments that would leave you with tears in your eyes, but then would also include serious moments and remind you of the underlining plot of the Apocalypse within the novel. No book has ever created such a perfect balance within these two feelings before but this had everything I wanted.

I also really liked how at the start of the book, there is a character list, almost like a play, to help you get to know the unique names of each character so you know who they are as soon as you start reading. It was such a unique addition to the book that I couldn’t help but love it.

Each character had such a brilliant purpose and the friendship between the demon Crowley and the angel Aziraphale was one of my favourites. It was so interesting to see the two representations of Good vs Evil working so well together, the underlying message of them working as a team was a lovely addition. They were both so funny and also so hard working to please not only their master but also to help right the wrongs in the world, they were just developed with such wonderful skill.

It was also extremely nice to see the different POV’s in relation to the uprising of the Apocalypse such as the Four Horsemen, the Kraken and how Adam the Antichrist all prepare for the upcoming end of the world. It allowed us insight into every character mentioned with the book which is so rare, but the talent in the writing style allowed this to shine through.

I also loved how human the Antichrist, Adam, and his hellhound, Dog, is. They bring such a normality to such a crazy book with such death defying plot lines, and it was the most brilliant contrast. When everyone comes together at the end, I couldn’t help but be on the edge of my seat to see what happens, but also laugh at the sarcasm of both Crowley and Adam. It was a perfect ending for this wonderful book.

There is no doubt in the world that the late but great Terry Pratchett and the wonderful Neil Gaiman are some of the best writers to have ever blessed our world, but this book proves that not only are they brilliant together but when they come together they create an absolute masterpiece. With a story that is so unique that I know I’ll never read anything like it, and with the wonderful character creations within the story, this is a story that will forever be deserving the title of ‘one of the greatest books in existence’ and I hope everyone gets the chance to read it.

Have you read Good Omens? What did you think? Leave a comment below!

Until next time,

Keep Reading,

Meggan x

Leave a Reply

