Recommendations · Reviews

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab // Review

Title: A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 23rd February 2016

The second instalment in the thrilling magic filled series will leave you never wanting it to end, and dreaming of living in the mysteriously magical Red London.

The ending of A Darker Shade of Magic, the first book in this series, was one of my favourite endings of any first book in a series ever, and the start of this book carries on that title as the opening to this book is one of my favourites. I love how time has passed between the books and seeing how the characters have developed in the time we haven’t read about them is so interesting.

Lila Bard quickly became one of the best female characters I’ve ever read about and with her entrance into this book, my love for her definitely hasn’t changed. I love her development within this book, she has become so much more headstrong and has taken the chance at living in Red London, and made it her own by following her dreams. She has such a big heart but I also love how she kicks into action at the slightest look of trouble.

The writing style is once again absolutely amazing within this book, and the relationship between Kell and Rhy is beautifully written. After the events of the previous book I wasn’t sure how they would react to each other, but the love and tension between them is written so brilliantly that it feels so real.

The introduction of some new (and old) characters is such a great inclusion, and such a massive shock that it’s a perfect addition to the story. I love Alucard’s sassiness and how he challenges Lila, he’s the perfect opposition for her and I really like that challenge against her boisterous character. The relationship that grows between Lila and Kell is also written so well that it doesn’t take over the entire story, it’s always in the background of the main plot leaving you desperate for their relationship to develop!

The introduction of the Elemental Games is absolutely brilliant. The fight scene between Kell and Lila is something I’ve lived for since the moment they met, and it lived up to my expectation! They are such a brilliant match and I love how Lila gets to show herself off for once and show she isn’t the little woman who needs protecting like she was in ADSOM, it’s such an important scene between them both.

The lead up to the ending of this book filled me with so much tension I could barely sit still. The old character we meet also has such a brilliant development and keeps you on the edge of your toes the entire time they are here. The plot of this book is so different to ADSOM and that’s why I love it. It’s a different story in the same world, exactly what you’d want from a sequel.

The ending left me absolutely begging for the next book, and even know I am eager to know what happened after the final page. It left me with so many questions about the next book, A Conjuring of Light, and I know that the book is already going to ruin me emotionally.

With a perfect plot twist, amazing character development and the best villain of the series so far, I am in absolute love with this book and with Schwab’s talent. I can’t wait to get stuck in with the final book and see what is next in store for Kell, Lila and the London gang.

All three books in the Darker Shade of Magic series are out now in all major outlets and book stores! Be sure to pick them up and start your own adventure!

Until next time,

Keep Reading,

Meggan x

2 thoughts on “A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab // Review

Leave a Reply

