Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles by G.S. Denning // Review


Title: Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles by G.S. Denning

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 16th May 2017

The stunning and action packed sequel in the Warlock Holmes series is the perfect follow up to the cliffhanger of the previous book, and leaves you laughing, crying and wanting the next book instantly!

I was desperate as soon as I finished the first book in the series to pick up the next book, so when I found this beauty had been sent to me by the wonderful author I put down the book I was reading and instantly began this! Thank you G.S. Denning for sending it to me!

From the first page I was hooked once again, just like I was in the first book. I absolutely loved how it followed on with ease from A Study in Brimstone. I feel a lot of the time seuqels are make or break for a series, but this entire book made me fall even more in love with the world of Warlock and John! The first chapter or so made me giggle so much, John is one of my favourite characters ever created and his friendship with Warlock throughout this book was brilliant.

I loved how their friendship that was already established in the first book just evolved and the love they have for each other is so nice to see, very reminiscent of the love and friendship John and Sherlock have in the original stories, which was a brilliant comparison. It particularly stood out to me just how much inner development these characters have been given to not only now trust their own judgement but each others, and I loved to see that development happen so brilliantly and so subtly. It was a uniquely brilliant touch to the story.

Once again the book is split up into different cases and told through John’s notes which I LOVE! It feels so authentic, like John is telling a story rather than you having to live with them through it, and feels a lot more personal with the audience. It’s also genius how each story fits with the next in some way, rather than being completely separate and leaving you wondering why it was included, thank you G.S. Denning for being so brilliant.

The cases included in this book were once again so accurate to the original stories that I am amazed at just how well Denning creates this new adaptation. It feels so new, yet with the familiarity of the stories we all know and love so well, it really is something to be in awe of. Throughout the book I love the hints we get to Moriarty and how subtly they are included, so he isn’t the main story but is definitely still a reminder that he’s there! The inclusion of a certain characters backstory is also absolutely amazing. I wasn’t expecting that to be included at all so the fact we get an insight into the actions of a certain character that we haven’t as of yet so far, it was the best surprise and addition!

The ending was something else. It was so personal, with John talking to the audience specifically and was so cryptic that I literally cannot wait for the next book to be out! I need to know what happens and what John meant! The ending is so clever, hinting at what is yet to come but still not giving much away so it leaves you begging for the next book – my favourite kind of cliffhanger!

This book was a perfect example of just how not only a sequel should be written, but a perfect example of how to write a beautiful adaptation of a classic series, and make it your own! I loved everything about it, from the character development, the new cases, and Floofy! It was a story that kept me hooked with laughter and action throughout and I can’t wait until the next book is out and I can once again immerse myself into the world of John Watson and Warlock Holmes!

*NOTE: I was sent this book in return for an honest review and that is what I have written. All opinions are my own and are completely truthful.*

This book is out in the UK on May 16th 2017 so make sure you get your pre-orders sorted now to receive it on the day! You won’t regret it!

If you’re new to the series then the first book in the series, Warlock Holmes: A Study in Brimstone, is out now at all major outlets!

Until next time,

Hapy Reading!

Meggan x

One thought on “Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles by G.S. Denning // Review

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up! – Between the Pages

Leave a Reply

