Reviews

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas // Review // Slight Spoilers!


Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 2nd May 2017

The thrilling and emotional conclusion to the bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy shows exactly why Maas has dominated the bestselling list.

This book was completely everything I’ve ever wanted to end this beautiful trilogy. I have waited so long since finishing ACOMAF (which became my favourite read of all time last year!), and I knew from the moment I held it in my hands this was going to be something special.

I have loved Maas’ writing style ever since I first read the Throne of Glass series, and this book definitely doesn’t let me down, if anything it proves just why she is an absolute Queen when it comes to YA. One of my favourite parts in this book was how we got to see different Courts other than the Spring and Night! I loved entering the Summer Court and travelling with Feyre through Winter and Autumn. It made the world within the story feel so much bigger and made me fall more and more in love with Prythian, and the world in which our favourite characters live.

Not only was the world building perfect, but the characters within the world were so brilliantly developed it was amazing. Finally meeting the rest of the High Lords was something I have wanted for SO LONG, and I’m so happy that we got to meet them. I loved how each High Lord has such unique personalities, and you could really tell the differences between the High Lords we’ve already gotten to know and love (Looking at you Rhys), and those we have really only just met (I love Helion).

The development within the Inner Circle was also so beautiful, I absolutely love how tight knit they all are, and how they accept Feyre being their High Lady. Their utter dedication to her brought a tear to my eye. It was so lovely to also have the Inner Circle completely involved in every single part of the narrative, and how well Nesta and Elain fit in. Nesta and Elain are such welcoming characters to the series, and the love between the Archeron sisters is one of the most beautiful things. The dedication both Feyre and Nesta have for Elain was so beautifully created and written, Sarah – you have outdone yourself.

One of my favourite parts was how this book started out with just Feyre alone in the Spring Court. The development that happens here is AMAZING. To think that the last time we saw her in Spring Court she was a broken woman, to now her being such a strong independent woman that holds her own and is badass as hell, it’s absolutely brilliant and I love that we got that comparison between the two different Feyre’s!

A lot of YA books have a tendency to make out that the main characters are completely ‘flawless’ and handle anything without any problems, which definitely isn’t the case in real life. It was amazing to see that when Feyre trained with Azriel, she did get tired, and did get sore and couldn’t do EVERYTHING she wanted to, it added such an aspect of realism to the story and showed that just because something doesn’t happen straight away doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try your best and work towards a goal.

If I had one thing I would change (which I would literally barely change anything), it would be that Rhys and Feyre say the words ‘my mate’ so much, that by the end I actually felt like it wasn’t a word anymore! I love how they constantly refer to themselves as it because it’s so sweet of them, it feels like they constantly remind themselves of it because they can’t believe it’s real (THEY ARE SO CUTE), but sometimes it seemed repetitive, but was easily overlooked by the beautiful writing.

We met some old friends and the scene where they return was my ABSOLUTE FAVOURITE. I love how they were reunited and the battle scene at the end filled me with so much love for every single character that I literally had no idea how to hold it in.

I also once again need to talk about THAT ENDING. Well I say ending, the last 100 pages or so KILLED ME. I won’t post spoilers but that was the most stressful time of any book, and for the first time in my life I actually shouted out loud when I got to one of the pages. No book has ever made me feel like that, showing just how much I LOVED this book!

The overall conclusion of this beautifully intricate story was absolutely perfect. I never knew how I wanted this arc of the series to finish off, until I read the end and then realised that that was exactly everything I wanted. It was such a lovely ending to Feyre and Rhysand’s story and well deserved after the UTTER STRESS of the chapters previous!

I have so much more to say about this book, and I have so many feelings! This series has ruined me, but in the best possible way. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried and I’ve shouted at it, but this series will forever hold a special place in my heart. I’m so sad this particular trilogy it’s over but knowing the A Court of Thorns and Roses series has more books to come makes me unbelievably excited!

Thank you Sarah J. Maas for introducing such wonderful characters into my life and making me dream of living in Prythian forever (Velaris would be my favourite place). Thank you for allowing me to immerse myself in this beautiful world, and for giving me one of the most amazing stories to treasure forever.

You can read my ACOTAR review here: Review!

You can read my ACOMAF review here: Review!

What did you think to ACOWAR, and the entire series? Was it a good ending for you? Leave a comment below with your thoughts!

Keep Reading,

Meggan x

2 thoughts on “A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas // Review // Slight Spoilers!

Leave a Reply

