Reviews

Dear Amy by Helen Callaghan // Review


Title: Dear Amy by Helen Callaghan

Rating: ★★★

Release: 26th January 2017

I was lucky enough to get an e-copy of this from NetGalley – all thoughts and opinions are completely my own.

I had my eye on this book for a while so when I saw it on NetGalley I had to request it, and read it as soon as I got accepted. The start of the book completely captivated me, the split perspective between Katie and Margot was brilliantly written. I was completely invested in the story and from the first chapter I had so many questions buzzing around my brain just waiting to be answered!

Helen’s writing style builds up the perfect amount of suspense so it doesn’t bore you because nothing happens, but instead you feel like anything could happen at any time and it makes you want to carry on reading just to see how the story develops. It really was a brilliant start to the book!

However sadly I felt the second half didn’t quite live up to the first half. I felt that everything exciting and noteworthy had already happened in the first half, so the last parts didn’t seem as important. There was a twist but for me I just didn’t feel like it was very believable.

I know books don’t have to be believable but this ending just felt a little too extreme for me, and I felt the book had a lot more potential than it got credit for! Everything just happened so quickly and it was a very abrupt ending that left me a little unsatisfied. I felt that there were quite a few loose ends and questions I’d have loved to be answered, so it wasn’t for me.

However saying that there were some positives and I really did love the character of Margot. I loved how headstrong she was and how she went out of her way to help someone in need, she really was such a wonderfully created character and was the star of the book for me.

Overall it wasn’t a bad book, I did like the idea behind the narrative and the characters, I just think it deserved a bit more ‘oomph’ for an ending!

Leave a Reply

