Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman // Review


Title: Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 22nd October 2015

One of the most unique books of it’s genre, and a truly captivating read that keeps you wanting more and more – even well after the book has ended.

I’d heard amazing things about this book, but it stayed on my shelf for months until I recently thought I’d give it a go. Little did I know I’d actually been missing out on one of the best books I’ve read.

This is already my favourite read of 2017 so far. It was everything you’d ever want in a dystopian Sci-Fi book and more. I first off was extremely wary when reading it as the story is told through files, IM’s, diary entries and similar things. I’ve read a couple of books that include these things but never an ENTIRE novel about it so I wasn’t sure how I was going to like it, but I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

The amount of detail in every single page was astounding. Jay and Amie did the most perfect job because it took reading to a whole new level. There were blood splatters, different fonts, diagrams, it was beautiful. Every page I turned I didn’t just skim through the words but I felt myself analysing every part of the page in case I missed anything. It was such a stunning way of creating a book.

The two main characters, Ezra and Kady were also incredibly written. They had their aspects of romance but not once did it take the main story, and if anything was barely more than a whisper across ships. I loved this because it felt so much more real, I could get immersed in the story and put myself in either of their shoes and it felt real. It was exactly what I imagined the love between a newly broken up couple would be like during one of the scariest times of their lives. It was beautifully written and their developing relationship kept the story so centred.

I also particularly loved the development of not only physical characters but of AIDAN and how he becomes a part of the overall story. It must be so hard to develop a non-physical character but Jay and Amie hit the nail right on the head with AIDAN. I even started to feel sympathy for him!

There wasn’t a single part in the book that felt out of place or unnecessary and I loved how by the end of the novel everything that had been hinted at or started to be explained was completely tied up. I was left with such happiness and love for the writing style I couldn’t help but instantly go get the sequel.

It’s so rare to have a book that has amazing character development as well as amazing world building but this book has it all. No matter what you’re looking for, I can guarantee you’ll probably find it in this book, it was outstanding. Jay and Amie are a writing match made in heaven, and I hope they continue writing books together forever because if Illuminae was anything to go by, the world isn’t even slightly ready for what they have in store for us!

Illuminae and it’s sequel, Gemina, are both out now in all major bookstores and online outlets! Please read this book – you won’t regret it!

2 thoughts on “Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman // Review

  1. Pingback: Gemina by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman // Review – Between the Pages

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far! – Between the Pages

Leave a Reply

