Monthly Wrap Ups

February Wrap Up!

Hi everyone!

I swear I start every single blog post exactly the same but I am so sorry for taking so long to post again! The amount of stuff I’ve had to do is insane, I’ve been slacking and I’m sorry!

I did make a new YouTube video finally though with my January Book Haul, which you can see if you follow this link! : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1UG2dB_YWE&t=1s!

Anyway here we are for my February Wrap Up! I actually can’t believe that I’m already writing this, this year is already going so quick! The start of this month didn’t start out well for my reading life, I got so caught up in a lot of things that it took me forever to get through books even though they were so good! However then as the month carried on, I had more time to read and I managed to read 5 books! Here they are:


Title: An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I got this book for Christmas and it is gorgeous. The illustrations by Cassandra Jean are breathtaking. I love the fact that we get to finally see what each character in the series’ so far are pictured to look like (to compare with our own images of them!), and the little bit of information about them is so nice too! I also loved how we get to meet characters that haven’t been introduced yet – it’s all so exciting! Also Jem is in there and he looks as beautiful as I imagined him to!


T
itle: Dear Amy by Helen Callaghan

Rating: ★★★

Review: NetGalley were kind enough to grant my request for this book, so I got a free e-copy of it to read. I had high hopes for this book when I started it, and for the first half of the book I was completely hooked. However then I felt it just missed something, it didn’t keep me as interested anymore and I felt more like I was reading through it because I wanted to move onto something else than I was because I actually wanted to read it. I did like the idea of the book, and as I said I think the first half of the book was brilliant and I loved how I was constantly guessing. I just think that the second half and the ending wasn’t what I hoped for and didn’t live up to the start.


Title: The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I watched the film adaptation of this book a couple months ago and I fell in love with it, so I was very curious about reading the book it was based off. This book was amazing. It felt like I was relieving the film but in an even better way because there was more detail, my love for characters grew more and it was just amazing. This is the perfect mix of romance and action, and Inigo Montoya is an angel in this book. If you’re looking for a fun read with great story, action, romance, pirates, adventures and characters you’ll love – this is the book for you.


Title: Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Rating: ★★★★

Review: I have never read anything by Pierce Brown but I’d heard amazing things about him, so after having this book sit on my shelf for months and months I thought it was about time I picked it up. I am so so glad I did because from the moment I picked it up I absolutely fell in love with the characters, the writing style and the story overall. The language used sometimes can be confusing but once you get used to it (which you do pretty quickly) it makes it all worth it! The amount of twists and turns that happen, and the struggle for Darrow to make the Reds proud was such a wonderful aspect. I felt everything Darrow felt, and I loved it. I can’t wait to read Golden Son!


Title: Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This is officially my favourite read of 2017 so far. As soon as I finished it all I wanted to do was read the next book or re-read this one. I wasn’t sure whether I’d like how this was told as it’s told through case files and IM’s etc. and I wasn’t sure how that would work. But it works absolutely amazingly. I was gripped from the first page and everytime I put the book down in the 3 days it took me to read it (which was rarely) all I could think about was picking it back up! I loved the story, the setting, and the amount of detail that was put into every single page. I’ve never experienced a story like this, but I am so so glad that I finally read it! I’ll have a full review up soon!

 

That’s it for this month! I read a good range of books this month and definitely added some new favourite series starters to my list! I can’t wait to see what next month has in store for me!

To keep up with my monthly book hauls and other discussion topics and book tags – don’t forget to subscribe to my YouTube channel at BetweenthePagesofYa! I have a couple of videos up now so don’t forget to go watch them to catch up until my next one!

Keep Reading!

Meggan x

Leave a Reply

