Reviews

13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough // Review

Title: 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

Rating: ★★★★★

Release: 14th July 2016

This YA thriller is a heart-pounding book that will leave you questioning every character and every turn. You won’t be able to put it down from the moment you pick it up.

I’d never read anything by Sarah Pinborough before but after I finished this book, she went straight onto my auto-buy author list because this book was phenomenal. There are very little YA thrillers that have a good reputation these days so I was very on edge when starting this, but once I was about a chapter in, I could tell this was a very special book.

The way it’s written is beautifully creative. The inclusion of diary entries, doctors notes and text messages added to the mystery element and really makes you feel like you’re in the investigation with the author. It immerses you into becoming part of the book rather than an outsider which was amazing.

The characters are so brilliantly developed that every time I picked the book up, I felt myself starting to sympathise with another character, and it got to a point where I could not tell how the book would end. I’m normally quite good at guessing the ending of mysteries but this book completely kept me on my toes. The suspense was perfect, from the moment I started I was constantly on the edge of my seat waiting for the next twist – it did not disappoint.

The two ‘main’ characters though, Bex and Natasha, deserve their own mention. I don’t know how Sarah did it but she developed these two with such skill that they worked as a perfect duo. They worked off of each other like two peas in a pod, and were two of the best characters I have ever read. Every chapter led me to siding with one or the other, and the way Sarah handled the development and change in these characters was one of the best things I have ever read.

This book is honestly one of the best thrillers I have ever read, even when I thought I knew what was going to happen something happened to throw a spanner in the works and I loved it. If you’re looking for a well thought out and unique thriller with two of the most devious yet brilliantly created characters in the YA genre, this is definitely the book for you!

13 Minutes is out now in all major bookstores and online outlets!

Leave a Reply

