January 2017 Wrap Up!

Hi everyone!

I’m so sorry I’ve been so absent recently! I’ve been in such a blogging slump, and then university became hectic and I just kind of put writing on the back of my priority list! However I’m slowly coming out of my slump, so should hopefully be more productive this year!

Anyway – it’s 2017! I can’t believe January is over already, but I had such a productive reading month! I read a mix of amazing, and not so great books this month (and probably those ones come with unpopular opinions too!) so this should be a fun wrap up! Here we go:


Title: Warlock Holmes: A Study in Brimstone by G.S. Denning

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This book was so much fun to read, such a wonderful twist on such classic and well known stories! The characters were brilliant, the new addition of a warlock version of Sherlock Holmes was such a genius idea, it was just the perfect way to start my reading year! Check out my full review here!


Title: The Forgotten Federation by A.J. Grea

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I was sent this by the author (MY FIRST EVER PHYSICAL REVIEW COPY – HOW EXCITING!) and I absolutely loved it! It was so exciting and perfectly paced with some of the best characters I’ve ever read about! I was hooked from the first chapter and never wanted to put it down! My full review is here!


Title: Carrie by Stephen King

Rating: ★★★★

Review: I LOVE Stephen King with all my heart, he’s on the top of my auto-buy authors, so I was so excited to finally read his first ever book! I really liked this, Carrie White is such a unique character and the first ‘evil’ character to truly make me want to empathise with her! A read for any Stephen King fan!


Title: Alexander Hamilton’s Guide to Life by Jeff Wilser

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Anyone who knows me will know that Hamilton is my entire life (AND I NOW HAVE TICKETS TO SEE IT NEXT YEAR IN LONDON!!) so when I got this for Christmas I was so excited to read it! It was one of the best books I’ve ever read. It was so inspiring and helpful to relate Hamilton’s life advice to yourself, but was also so fun and informative! I love learning about Hamilton and this was such a brilliant read, perfect for any Ham fan!

Title: The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty

Rating: ★★★

Review: I’ve been meaning to read this classic horror for so long, I finally got round to it! However sadly I was a bit disappointed! It was really good, and the horror aspect was brilliant, but I just wasn’t a huge fan of the story overall and how it was told! I know that’s probably a very unpopular opinion but I just wasn’t as thrilled with it as I expected!


T
itle: 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I’ve never read anything by this author before, and I picked this up on a whim – and I am SO glad I did! I loved this book so much. The plot was fascinating and I was constantly guessing and on edge with what would happen next. It’s so hard to write a book that constantly makes you think and question every single character you meet, but this did just that. Oh and it did it perfectly. Sarah is now on my auto-buy list and I can’t wait for her new book! Such an amazing book, written perfectly!


Title: The Woman in Black by Susan Hill

Rating: ★★★★

Review: One of my closest friends recommended this to me, so I knew I needed to read it! I’m really happy I did because I loved it. It was so different to the film, in the best way! It adds so much eeriness and atmosphere to the story, I loved how even just a description of the surroundings of an area could give me shivers down my spine! It was a short book, but it had so much impact! I loved it! Also this cover is gorgeous!

So that’s my wrap up for the first month of 2017! I loved most of the books I read this month, and I even introduced myself to some new favourite authors! It seems this year is going to be a successful reading year – I can’t wait!

My January Book Haul should be up soon – so make sure to look out for it!

What did you read this month? What do you think of the books I read? Leave a comment with your thoughts and wrap ups!

Love,

Meggan x

2 thoughts on “January 2017 Wrap Up!

  1. Oh em, you’re a Hamilton fan, too! I only recently decided to immerse myself into its awesomeness. I can’t believe you have the opportunity to actually watch the play in person! You’re incredibly blessed. 😊

    As promised on Twitter, I’m hopping from blog to blog to leave these behind: 🌻🌻🌻🌻🌻

    Like

Leave a Reply

