October Wrap Up!

Hi everyone!

Why is October over already??? We have two months left until 2016 is over, how crazy is that?

October is one of my favourite reading months, because it’s Halloween so the perfect time to read creepy horror books! I love horror books, and there’s no better time to read them so I make sure to read as many as I can, even if it is hard fitting them around uni!

Anyway the books I read this month were amazing!


Title:
 Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I CANNOT DEAL WITH THIS BOOK IN THE SLIGHTEST. This book was everything I’ve ever wanted and more, I thought it would be hard to beat Heir of Fire as my favourite book in the series but this might just beat it. EVERYTHING HAPPENS AND I LOVE IT. I need to write my review but it both made me cry with happiness and also ripped my heart in two, PLEASE READ THIS!


Title:
 The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I’ve been wanting a Neil Gaiman book for so long and I finally found this for £1 in my local charity shop so I picked it up and started reading it on the way home! I loved it, I loved Neil’s writing and the narrative and it was just so good! Now to hopefully read more Neil Gaiman books!

d1b89-starrfall-v5-2
Title:
 Starr Fall by Kim Briggs

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Kim emailed me and asked me to read and review this before it’s release day next month (see my full review of it here!) and I was thrilled! It was an amazing book, with such a unique story and brilliantly created characters! I definitely recommend it, and Kim is super lovely!


2016-06-12 15.08.08


Title:
 The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

Rating: ★★★★

Review: The first book I read by Dawn was The Creeper Man (full review here!), and I LOVED it so much. I know this is Dawn’s debut release, so I was curious as to what it was like, and I still loved it! I loved the writing style of it, and yes I didn’t love it as much as The Creeper Man but to say it was a debut, she really is an amazing author!

14813539_10205608383288359_1439716503_n


Title: 
The Monstrous Child
 by Francesca Simon

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This was such an impulse buy because of it’s beautiful cover and the fact its about mythology and it paid off! I loved how chatty the book was, and how Hel was so calm and cool about everything and her wonderful personality. Such an amazing book!

14938048_10205694152912546_965099083_n.jpg
Title:
 NOS4R2 by Joe Hill

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I LOVED THIS BOOK. I needed a proper creepy book to read this month and this definitely fit perfectly. The perfect amount of horror, creepy settings and also a bit of paranormal happenings, it was just everything. I was hooked from start to finish! If you’re looking for a good horror book, this is it!


Title:
 The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley

Rating: ★★★

Review: This book had really high expectations for me, and I’d heard great things about it but it just didn’t do it go me sadly. I loved the relationship of the two brothers, and at parts I was completely absorbed by the story, but by the end I wasn’t really sure what was going on at times. I loved the characters and parts of the story overall, it was just a bit too hyped for me!

That’s my wrap up! I read some AMAZING books this month, and loved every one of them! Hopefully November is a good reading month too!

Have you read any of the books I did this month? What did you think?

Leave a comment with your wrap ups so I can have a read too!

Love,

Meggan x

One thought on “October Wrap Up!

  1. Pingback: October Book Haul! – Between the Pages

Leave a Reply

