Hauls

September Book Haul!

Hi everyone!

I CAN’T BELIEVE THIS IS SO LATE??? WHERE ARE THE MONTHS GOING?? September was a super good month for book hauling! I waited until mostly near the end of the month to actually buy books, which is one of the best shows of restraint I’ve ever had haha! Here are the books I bought:

14805624_10205608384128380_1473153383_n.jpg
Title:
 The Graces by Laura Eve

I’ve heard such great things about this, mostly from book bloggers (Summer from Buttermybooks definitely!) so when I saw it on buy one get one half price, I had to get it! IT’S SO PRETTY!

Synopsis: Everyone said the Graces were witches.
They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.
They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.
All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

14804943_10205608382848348_1801116647_nTitle: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this book!  It’s supposed to be one of the best books this year, and I’ve waited long enough! I got it and I am so so excited to read it, especially now Crooked Kingdom is out too!

Synopsis: Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams – but he can’t pull it off alone.
A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.
Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. 
Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction – if they don’t kill each other first.
14805560_10205608382448338_1129169093_n
Title:
 The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Again this book is so beautiful, and it’s been all over BookTube for so long that I was so excited to get it. It sounds so interesting and definitely right up my street!

Synopsis: Welcome to Manhattan, 2118. A thousand-storey tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible – if you want it enough. A hundred years in the future, New York’s elite of the super-tower lie, backstab and betray each other to find their place at the top of the world. Everyone wants something… and everyone has something to lose. As the privileged inhabitants of the upper floors recklessly navigate the successes and pitfalls of the luxury life, forbidden desires are indulged and carefree lives teeter on the brink of catastrophe. Whilst lower-floor workers are tempted by a world – and unexpected romance – dangling just out of reach. And on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all – yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have. So when a young woman falls from the top of the supertower, her death is the culmination of a scandal that has ensnared the top-floor elite and bottom-floor. But who plummeted from the roof? And what dark secrets led to her fall? Friends will be betrayed and enemies forged as promises are broken. When you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down…

14805460_10205608383488364_983444092_nTitle: Fellside by M. R. Carey

I LOVED The Girl With All The Gifts so much, so when I saw that there was a new book released by M. R. Carey I had to get it! I was waiting for it to be released in paperback and it finally is! I can’t wait!

Synopsis: Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It’s not the kind of place you’d want to end up. But it’s where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life. It’s a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Will she listen?

14825635_10205608383528365_114172941_n.jpg
Title: 
Riverkeep 
by Martin Stewart

WHY IS IT SO PRETTY OH MY GOD. I love this cover so much and once I read the blurb too I was hooked, it was an impulse buy but how can you resist such a gorgeous cover??

Synopsis: Fifteen-year-old Wulliam is dreading taking up his family’s mantle of Riverkeep, tending the river and fishing corpses from its treacherous waters. But then everything changes. One night his father is possessed by a dark spirit, and Wull hears that a cure lurks deep within the great sea-beast known as the mormorach. He realizes he must go on an epic journey downriver to find it – or lose Pappa forever.

14797399_10205608382368336_1763788813_n.jpgTitle: Slade House by David Mitchell

This was recommended to me by the seller in Waterstones and once he described it to me it sounded like it was the perfect book for me! It also has a shiny cover! Such a good cover month!

Synopsis: Turn down Slade Alley – narrow, dank and easy to miss, even when you’re looking for it. Find the small black iron door set into the right-hand wall. No handle, no keyhole, but at your touch it swings open. Enter the sunlit garden of an old house that doesn’t quite make sense; too grand for the shabby neighbourhood, too large for the space it occupies. A stranger greets you and invites you inside. At first, you won’t want to leave. Later, you’ll find that you can’t.
14805342_10205608382408337_1366856329_n
Title:
 Grief Is The Thing With Feathers by Max Porter

I saw this on Faber Books snapchat, as it was being created and published so it was so good to see it in print form when I saw the entire process! It was also recommended to me by the bookshop seller in Waterstones and he put it on for half price for me so I was sold!

Synopsis: In a London flat, two young boys face the unbearable sadness of their mother’s sudden death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar and scruffy romantic, imagines a future of well-meaning visitors and emptiness. In this moment of despair they are visited by Crow – antagonist, trickster, healer, babysitter. This sentimental bird is drawn to the grieving family and threatens to stay until they no longer need him.

14826460_10205608383328360_724517857_n
Title:
 The Last Boy and Girl In The World by Siobhan Vivian

Another impulse buy but it sounded like a YA/Apocalypse book and I love that! It sounds so interesting, I can’t wait to get to it!

Synopsis: What if your town was sliding underwater and everyone was ordered to pack up and leave? How would you and your friends spend your last days together? While the adults plan for the future, box up their possessions, and find new places to live, Keeley Hewitt and her friends decide to go out with a bang. There are parties in abandoned houses. Canoe races down Main Street. The goal is to make the most of every minute they still have together. And for Keeley, that means taking one last shot at the boy she’s loved forever. There’s a weird sort of bravery that comes from knowing there’s nothing left to lose. You might do things you normally wouldn’t. Or say things you shouldn’t. The reward almost always outweighs the risk. Almost. It’s the end of Aberdeen, but the beginning of Keeley’s first love story. It just might not turn out the way she thought. Because it’s not always clear what’s worth fighting for and what you should let become a memory.

14798943_10205608382528340_357505222_n.jpg
Title:
 Legend by Marie Lu

I’ve heard nothing but good things about Marie Lu, and I asked a friend which was better The Young Elites or Legend, and she said Legend so I just had to get it to see! I’m so excited to read the trilogy, I love how there is a little bit of info in the synopsis but still not enough to let me know everything!

Synopsis: He is Day.
The boy who walks in the light
She is June.
The girl who seeks her brother’s killer.
On the run and undercover, they meet by chance. Irresistably drawn together, neither knows the other’s past. But Day murdered June’s brother. And she has sworn to avenge his death.

14813539_10205608383288359_1439716503_n.jpg
Title:
 The Monstrous Child by Francesca Simon

ANOTHER GORGEOUS COVER OH MY GOD. I love Norse mythology, and this sounds amazing. I love how it has the child of Loki rather than actual Loki, since he is normally mentioned, but other Norse gods aren’t. It’s a nice change!

Synopsis: Meet Hel, an ordinary teenager – and goddess of the Underworld. Why is life so unfair? But Hel tries to make the best of it, creating gleaming halls in her dark kingdom and welcoming the dead who she is forced to host for eternity. Until eternity itself is threatened.

14804795_10205608384168381_1721234402_n.jpg
Title:
 The Call by Peadar O’Guilin

A lot of booktubers have been talking about this, and I used my points card to buy it (so it was basically free), and it’s October next month – what more do I need than a good creepy book!!

Synopsis: What if you only had 3 minutes to save your own life and the clock is already counting down…Three minutes. Nessa, Megan and Anto know that any day now they wake up alone in a horrible land and realise they’ve been Called. Two minutes. Like all teenagers they know that they’ll be hunted down and despite all their training only 1 in 10 will survive. One minute. And Nessa can’t run, her polio twisted legs mean she’ll never survive her Call will she? Time’s up.

Title: The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell

I was stopped in a shop to have this recommended, and if anyone is passionate enough about a book to do that, then I’m naturally drawn to it. It’s so pretty and a lovely synopsis, I honestly can’t wait.

Synopsis: Feodora and her mother live in the snowbound woods of Russia, in a house full of food and fireplaces. Ten minutes away, in a ruined chapel, lives a pack of wolves. Feodora’s mother is a wolf wilder, and Feo is a wolf wilder in training. A wolf wilder is the opposite of an animal tamer: it is a person who teaches tamed animals to fend for themselves, and to fight and to run, and to be wary of humans.When the murderous hostility of the Russian Army threatens her very existence, Feo is left with no option but to go on the run. What follows is a story of revolution and adventure, about standing up for the things you love and fighting back. And, of course, wolves.

Title: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I HAVE BEEN WANTING THIS FOR SO LONG IT IS UNREAL! It’s been on my wishlist forever and I finally found it online, and had to buy it instantly. I know Tahereh is meant to be an amazing author, and a friend told me I need to read Shatter Me so I’m finally getting round to it!

Synopsis: I have a curse.I have a gift. I’m a monster. I’m more than human. My touch is lethal.My touch is power. I am their weapon.I will fight back. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

Title: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

This cover is absolutely gorgeous. I’ve never read a Colleen Hoover book but I’ve heard that this ruins people, so I’m so excited to cry and just completely wreck myself….definitely….

Synopsis: Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

That’s it for my book haul for September! I’M SORRY THIS IS UP SO LATE I AM SLACKING! I had so many great buys especially covers!

Have you read any books that I bought this month?

Love,

Meggan x

Leave a Reply

