August Book Haul!

Hi everyone!

I’m sorry this is so late!!! I forgot to post it haha!!! Anyway:

How is it already the end of August?? Where is 2016 going? So this month was a successful book buying month because I got SO MANY bargains! I love bargain book buying and let me tell you, this month was the best. Here are the books I bought in August:

Charity Shop Book Haul
I had a couple of trips to the local charity shops this month and got some amazing and beautiful books in perfect condition for super cheap, always the best!

14159811_10205269424334597_96351893_n
Title:
 John Dies at the End by David Wong

I saw this book at the charity shop and it sounded so intruiging! I loved how it sounded and how the synopsis pulled me in so I was super excited to see it for cheap!

Synopsis: My name is David Wong. My best friend is John. Those names are fake. You might want to change yours. You may not want to know about the things you ll read on these pages, about the sauce, about Korrock, about the invasion, and the future. But it is too late. You touched the book. You are in the game. You are under the eye. The only defence is knowledge. You need to read this book, to the end. Even the part about the bratwurst. Why? You will just have to trust me. Unfortunately for us, if you make the right choice, we will have a much harder time explaining how to fight off the otherwordly invasion currently threatening to enslave humanity. I m sorry to have involved you in this, I really am. But as you read about these terrible events and the very dark epoch the world is about to enter as a result, it is crucial you keep one thing in mind: NONE OF THIS IS MY FAULT.

 

Title: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

I LOVE classic books so much and it’s my goal to basically collect all of the great ones and read them. So you can imagine my happiness when I saw this beautiful edition for £1 in the charity shop! £1 for a perfect classic! I can’t get over how beautiful it is.

Synopsis: Great Expectations traces the growth of the book’s narrator, Philip Pirrip (Pip), from a boy of shallow dreams to a man with depth of character. From its famous dramatic opening on the bleak Kentish marshes, the story abounds with some of Dickens’ most memorable characters.

Among them are the kindly blacksmith Joe Gargery, the mysterious convict Abel Magwitch, the eccentric Miss Haversham and her beautiful ward Estella, Pip’s good-hearted room-mate Herbert Pocket and the pompous Pumblechook.

As Pip unravels the truth behind his own ‘great expectations’ in his quest to become a gentleman, the mysteries of the past and the convolutions of fate through a series of thrilling adventures serve to steer him towards maturity and his most important discovery of all – the truth about himself.

 

Title: Jane Austen Collection by Jane Austen

Another £1 classic in a gorgeous edition! I still need to read a book by Jane Austen, so I really loved this collection so I can finally read her books!

Synopsis: This collection includes: Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, Pride & Prejudice, Jane Eyre and Mansfield Park.

14159951_10205269423694581_1966834823_n
Title:
 The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

I’ve heard so many great things about this book, especially from Reagan over at PeruseProject! So when I saw it in the charity shop for only 75p, I knew I had to pick it up and give it a try!

Synopsis: Gavin Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. His strength, wit and charm are all that preserve a tenuous peace. But Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live. When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he’s willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart.

Title: Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

ANOTHER OF THE BEAUTIFUL CLASSICS FOR £1. I literally can’t believe I got so lucky with these books, they’re so beautiful and look perfect on my shelf!

Synopsis:

 

Best Bargain of the Month:
This was the best thing I bought and I CANNOT BELIEVE IT!

14203450_10205269423094566_302994906_o

Title: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Okay so this is the biggest bargain of the month and I could literally cry with happiness. I have wanted these editions of TMI for MONTHS now (I’ve read them all on my Kindle many times) but they were always too expensive. I walked into The Works and found the boxset for only £12!!! I literally squealed with happiness, I now own these beauties and I’ve saved money! £12 is SO CHEAP and I am SO HAPPY, I literally can’t believe it. THANK YOU TO THE WORKS.

Synopsis: Discover the secrets of the Shadowhunters as they wage a terrifying war to keep the world safe from demons in the sensational and internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Box-set includes City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire.

Other books I bought:
We all know I have no self restraint so these are the other books I bought this month, most were 3 for 2 deals so even then I got some bargains!

14182662_10205269423494576_78027305_n
Title:
 The Shadowhunter Codex by Cassandra Clare

I’ve wanted this for so long, I love the Shadowhunter world, and this is the must have for all fans! I love the little annotations in it too!

Synopsis: The essential guide for all young shadowhunters. Since the thirteenth century, the Shadowhunters’ Codex has been the one and only manual for Shadowhunters looking to brush up on their demon languages, learn proper stele use and discover just what exactly a pyxis is. This is Clary’s copy, and as an artist herself, she’s sketched pictures of her friends and family throughout the book, and scrawled helpful advice in the margins. Of course, she couldn’t exactly stop Jace or Simon from adding their thoughts either.

Title: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

I LOVED The Raven Boys so much, and as soon as I finished it I needed to get the next book! So this was the first book I bought this month, and I am so excited to read it! This series is seeming so good and I can’t wait.

Title: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Naturally because I have no restraint, I also bought the third book in the series, because I LOVED THE RAVEN BOYS SO MUCH.

 

Title: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Oops here we are again, okay so if I got the other 3 books I HAD to get the final one, right? I mean it would be a shame not to own them all really? Yeah definitely…

14215274_10205269422814559_1333855880_o
Title:
 Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book, and after reading Nevernight by Jay Kristoff, I was very curious as to how the other book he’s known for was!

Synopsis: The year is 2575 and two mega-corporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice covered speck.  Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it.  With enemy fire raining down on them Ezra and Kady have to make their escape on the evacuating fleet.  But their troubles are just beginning.  A deadly plague has broken out on one of the space ships and it is mutating with terrifying results.  Their ships protection is seriously flawed.   No one will say what is going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth its clear only one person can help her. Ezra. And the only problem with that is they split up before all this trouble started and she isn’t supposed to be talking to him.

14215723_10205269422774558_531100350_o
Title:
 Blame by Simon Mayo

I just saw this randomly in Waterstones and it sounded so interesting! From the synopsis it sounded so intriguing, and it seems to have good reviews too! I didn’t pick it up when I first saw it but made sure to go back for it after because it sounded great!

Synopsis: What happens when society wants you banged up in prison for a crime your parents committed? That’s the situation in which Ant finds herself – together with her little brother Mattie and their foster-parents, she’s locked up in a new kind of family prison. None of the inmates are themselves criminals, but wider society wants them to do time for the unpunished ‘heritage’ crimes of their parents. Tensions are bubbling inside the London prison network Ant and Mattie call home – and when things finally erupt, they realize they’ve got one chance to break out. Everyone wants to see them punished for the sins of their mum and dad, but it’s time for Ant to show the world that they’re not to blame.

14215283_10205269423054565_251821131_o
Title:
 Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

I LOVED the Lunar Chronicles, and once I finished Winter I just needed more writing about this world! As soon as I saw this I just had to get it, I love this world so much.

Synopsis: The universe of the Lunar Chronicles holds stories – and secrets – that are wondrous, vicious, and romantic. How did Cinder first arrive in New Beijing? How did the brooding soldier Wolf transform from young man to killer? When did Princess Winter and the palace guard Jacin realize their destinies? With nine stories – five of which have never before been published – and an exclusive never-before-seen excerpt from Marissa Meyer’s upcoming novel, Heartless, about the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, Stars Above is essential for fans of the bestselling and beloved Lunar Chronicles.

14087280_10205216455690414_1377715450_oTitle: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I’ve been wanting this book for so long, and I actually went out to get it on it’s release date as I was so excited! It’s so pretty and I’ve actually already read this book, here’s my review!

Synopsis: Destined to destroy empires, Mia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death. Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day she lost everything. But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and daemons at the heart of a murder cult. The Red Church is no ordinary school, but Mia is no ordinary student.The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

14159109_10205269424134592_42943794_n
Title:
 The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

This has been such a popular book over the past couple of years on BookTube and I finally found it in the shop, so I was just so drawn to get it! Also the synopsis sounds so so interesting! I can’t wait to read it!

Synopsis: Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. It’s an eternal party, shown on TV 24 hours a day – gorgeous, glamorous, deadly! Because, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave…

14182605_10205269423534577_2052044518_nTitle: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

This has been on my wish list for so long, I finally caved and got it! It sounds so good, and I know the final book is released soon, so I’m hoping to catch up with it now that the final book is on the horizon.

Synopsis: Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars-they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites. Teren Santoro works for the king. Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her. It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

It was a good book buying month! I bought some amazing books and I am so excited to read them!

What did you buy this month?

Love,

Meggan x

Leave a Reply

