Reviews

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child // Review

13932324_10205086695766497_1536634891_o
Title:
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J K Rowling

Rating: ★★★.5

Release Date: 31st July 2016

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eight book in the bestselling Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. It is written in script form rather than novel format, as it is currently a play on the West End in London.

This book was one of the most anticipated releases this year, so when it was released on the 31st July (Harry Potter’s and J.K.Rowling’s birthdays) I had to get it.

It didn’t take long to read due to the script format, only a couple of hours or so, so it’s definitely a good quick read! I didn’t mind the fact it was written in script form as I love reading Shakespeare so I was pretty used to it! I would have preferred a novel but the script still wasn’t bad.

I did like this book, the one issue I had was that I didn’t think it quite lived up to the hype that it was given. I liked the story but after reading the first 7 books, I felt this book was more like a spin off book rather than the eighth novel. It just didn’t feel like it was needed to continue the series, and it could easily have been a spin off too, especially since it focused more on Albus and Scorpio than the original characters.

However saying that, the last quarter of the book was brilliant. I loved how so many parts related to the previous books, and in particular how the last part related to one of the most well known and important parts of the Harry Potter series. I loved how it gave us a new perspective to see it from and that it linked so well.

It was also particularly clever how similar Albus’ journey to Hogwarts was in comparison to Harry’s first journey, and I loved how they were linked as a nod to the original books. Definitely an amazing nostalgic feeling. I also liked how the original characters grew as adults, especially seeing the legacy than Ron, Hermione and Harry created and how hard it is for their children to live up to.

Overall, it was nice to return to this world and catch up on the new generation of witches and wizards and see how the original characters have developed. However due to the hype I must say I was expecting more, especially from the end, but I’m still glad this book exists. I love the links to the original books, and how much more important Cedric becomes in the story. Thank you J.K for all you’ve done with the Wizarding World.

What did you think to this book?

Love,

Meggan x

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child // Review

  1. To be honest, I didn’t have any expectations when I started reading it, and still ended up disappointed. It wasn’t terrible, just okay, and I’m not used to saying something from Harry Potter world is just okay. Maybe it’s just me, but characters didn’t seem like them in some situations (Harry when he was fighting with Albus, Ron in the whole book, Snape for that couple of pages he was there…). 🙂

    Like

    1. No I definitely understand that! Especially with how Harry was with Albus, I’d have expected him to be a lot more understanding than that! I didn’t feel like it was a Harry Potter book which was sad!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

