Reviews · Uncategorized

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes // Review

13334785_10204737400954345_1024110584_o
Title:
 Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Rating: ★★★★★

Release Date: 5th January 2012

Me Before You is one of the most beautifully written books, that leaves you feeling every emotion possible.

Me Before You tells the story of Louisa Clarke who takes a job as a carer for Will Traynor, who was left quadriplegic after a motorcycle accident 2 years ago. It follows Lou’s struggle to work out how to interact with Will, and Will’s struggle to accept his new life, especially adjusting to having Lou around.

This book was honestly one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. I must admit I went to see the film first (I saw it 3 times!), and then I was so moved that I decided I needed to read the book. The book was even better than I expected, and even better than the film.

From start to finish the book was so well written, I loved every second. The main thing that stood out to me was Lou’s character. I loved her personality, and how she was the perfect balance of caring, yet also sarcastic enough to match Will. She was just written so well that no matter what happened to her in the book, I felt exactly how she was feeling and cared a lot about her.

Will was also written so well, I liked how the book included the struggle of his disability that no one else sees, such as not wanting to be seen in public, or eating in public. All the things that can easily be overlooked, and it really adds depth to the story.

I loved how it wasn’t just entirely sad like some books are, it was so heart warming and happy too, and it worked so well with the entire book, and it was the perfect balance throughout the book.

The story overall is so beautifully written, Jojo Moyes has such a wonderful talent at writing heartbreaking books and this one is the most noticeable example. I was hooked from start to finish, and by the time I finished it I was a sobbing mess. The end was spectacular and written so well that it completely took my heart and left me feeling nearly every emotion possible.

Overall this was such a wonderful book, I loved how it was written, the characters and the story itself. It was heartbreaking, and heartwarming and just such a brilliant book.

What did you think to this book?

Love,

Meggan x

4 thoughts on “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes // Review

  1. I’ve heard so much about this book and movie, and it looks super interesting! I think I’m going to have to read it sometime, because I really haven’t heard too many bad things.
    Fantastic review! I’m glad you liked it. 🙂
    -Amy

    Like

Leave a Reply

