After You by Jojo Moyes // Review

13682616_10204964328867401_1065029395_o
Title:
 After You by Jojo Moyes

Rating: ★★★.5

Release Date: 24th September 2015

After You is the sequel to 2012 hit, Me Before You. It follows the story of Lou after the events of the previous book. She isn’t sure how to continue after what happened, becomes distant from her family, and moves away. Then she goes to a grief counselling meeting, and everything changes.

I didn’t mind this book, it didn’t stand out to me as much as Me Before You did, but since they’re two different books it’s unfair to compare.

However saying this, even from the start I wasn’t really pulled into the story. I won’t spoil anything, but I felt that a certain incident at the start of the book was a little unnecessary especially after the events of the previous book. I felt like it could have maybe been told a different way, in my opinion.

One thing I did love was the insight into Lou’s new life that Moyes gave us. I loved how it was shown that people were disgusted at Lou and thought her untrustworthy after what happened. It really gave a better depth at what Lou was coping with and was definitely something that I never thought of as an aftermath after finishing Me Before You.

I also thought that it was really good how the book focused on how she was coping after Will rather than just focusing on getting a new love in her life. It was so important to see how she was and I loved how Moyes developed her character to see the difference.

Lily’s character was also a nice addition to the book, although I was shocked at who she was, I overall liked how similar she was to Lou and also the bond between them both. A new lead female character was well needed and Jojo didn’t disappoint. Lily was such a great addition to an already wonderful set of characters.

The follow up of the Traynors was also a stand out for me, it was nice to link both books together in this way and also cleared up a lot of questions that may have arose about them after Me Before You.

Overall it wasn’t a bad book, I still feel that Me Before You could have been a standalone, and that there were a couple of events that maybe didn’t need to be included (one at the start, and one near the end). However other than that it was a nice follow up, and was brilliant to see Lou’s character develop further, especially away from Will. I definitely recommend to read it once finishing Me Before You!

What did you think to After You?

Love,

Meggan x

One thought on “After You by Jojo Moyes // Review

  1. Pingback: August Wrap Up &#ReadThemAllThon Wrap Up! – Between the Pages

Leave a Reply

