Hauls

July Book Haul!

Hi everyone!

Okay so this month was quite a big haul! But I got books for my anniversary, and other books quite cheap so I’m going to say its okay hahahaha! This months haul:

Anniversary Presents:

13588962_10204929915207081_1067953563_oTitle: Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin Manuel Miranda & Jeremy McCarter

I CANT EVEN DEAL WITH THIS OH MY GOD. I’ve been after this book for SO LONG and my fiance surprised me with it for our anniversary and it is literal perfection. Hamilton is basically my life at the moment and I can’t even express how beautiful this book is. The spine, the content, EVERYTHING. I’m so so so happy to have it in my possession.

Synopsis: HAMILTON: THE REVOLUTION gives readers an unprecedented view of both revolutions, from the only two writers able to provide it. Miranda, along with Jeremy McCarter, a cultural critic and theater artist who was involved in the project from its earliest stages – “since before this was even a show,” according to Miranda – traces its development from an improbable perfor­mance at the White House to its landmark opening night on Broadway six years later. In addition, Miranda has written more than 200 funny, revealing footnotes for his award-winning libretto, the full text of which is published here.

13663448_10204964318347138_1992319562_o.jpg
Title:
 The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I already own this book and it’s my absolute favourite book! Because of this for my anniversary I got the 10th anniversary edition which is BEAUTIFUL! I’ve been wanting a hardback version of this book for ages and this one has a little bit of extra material in it too and it’s just so pretty! I love it!

Synopsis: One of the most enduring stories of our time, “The Book Thief” is just a small story really, about, among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist fighter, and quite a lot of thievery.
The 10th-anniversary editionfeatures pages of bonus content, including marked-up manuscript pages, original sketches, and pages from the author’s writing notebook.”

 

Amazon Gift Card:
So I got a gift card for my birthday and finally decided to use it….on books of course! I got:

13621901_10204964329467416_986159927_oTitle: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

The 2nd book in the Lunar Chronicles! I have been desperately searching for this book since I read Cinder! I found it and thought what better to spend my gift card on! I’ve already read this and my review will be up soon!

Synopsis: SCARLET BENOIT’S grandmother is missing. The police have closed her case. The only person Scarlet can turn to is Wolf, a street fighter she does not trust, but they are drawn to each other.
Meanwhile, in New Beijing, Cinder will become the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive – when she breaks out of prison to stay one step ahead of vicious Queen Levana.
As Scarlet and Wolf expose one mystery, they encounter Cinder and a new one unravels. Together they must challenge the evil queen, who will stop at nothing to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner . . .


13663617_10204964322907252_512129643_oTitle: Cress by Marissa Meyer

The 3rd book in the Lunar Chronicles! I needed the set so I can binge read!

Synopsis: CRESS grew-up as a prisoner. With only netscreens for company she’s forced to do the bidding of the evil Queen Levana. Now that means tracking down Cinder and her handsome accomplice Emperor Kai. But little does Levana know that those she seeks, and the man she loves, are plotting her downfall . . .
As paths cross and the price of freedom rises, happily ever after has never seemed further away for Cress, Scarlet and Cinder.

 

13646934_10204964320707197_1394910960_o
Title:
 Winter by Marissa Meyer

The final book in the Lunar Chronicles! Finally I have them all! I can’t believe how huge this book is!

Synopsis: Princess Winter is admired for her grace, kindness and beauty, despite the scars on her face. She’s said to be even more breath-taking than her stepmother, Queen Levana…
When Winter develops feelings for the handsome palace guard, Jacin, she fears the evil Queen will crush their romance before it has a chance to begin.
But there are stirrings against the Queen across the land. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even find the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.
Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter claim their happily ever afters by defeating Levana once and for all?

13682616_10204964328867401_1065029395_o
Title:
 After You by Jojo Moyes

I saw Me Before You 3 times at the cinema and I read it this month. After You was also £2.99 on Amazon when I got it, so it was a must have really!

Synopsis: Lou Clark has lots of questions.Like how it is she’s ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places.Or why the flat she’s owned for a year still doesn’t feel like home.Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.And will she ever get over the love of her life. What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.
Then, one night, it does.
But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for – or just more questions? Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe. Open it and she risks everything.But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she’s going to keep it, she has to invite them in . . .


Waterstones Budget Buying:
I had £20 on my Waterstones points card and a £10 gift card, so thought that this month was a good month to spend it finally! A nice book spending spree with gift cards!

Title: Noragami Vol. 2 by Adachitoka

Finally got another of these to add to my collection! I loved this anime and I cannot wait to read this manga!

Synopsis: Yato is a homeless god. He doesn’t even have a shrine, let alone any worshippers! So, to achieve his ambitious goals, he’s set up a service to help those in need (for a small fee of course). He hopes that one day he’ll be able to build the temple he feels he deserves, but for now he can’t be picky about the jobs that he chooses to accept. From finding lost kittens to overcoming school bullies, Yato is divinely intervening all over the place! A charming new series of supernatural high-school comedy, Noragami is sure to win fans from the manga community and further afield.

13647009_10204964329507417_287852332_o
Title:
 Say Her Name by Juno Dawson

I just saw this on the shelf and it sounded so interesting! It sounds like a YA horror type book and I’m really into horror books at the moment so as soon as I read the synopsis I had to pick it up! I’ve also actually read this already and my review is here if you want to read about it! This is the synopsis that got me hooked:

Synopsis: When Bobbie and her best friend Naya are dared by their schoolmates to summon the legendary ghost of Bloody Mary, neither really believes anything will happen. So they complete the ritual, and chant Mary’s name five times in front of a candlelit mirror…Bloody Mary, Bloody Mary, Bloody Mary…And something is called forth that night. Something dark, terrifying and out of control. She will be there, just out of sight, in the corner of your eye. She will lurk in your nightmares. She will hide in the shadows of your bedroom. She will be waiting in every mirror that you see. She is everywhere. And she wants revenge.
13639709_10204964330227435_1744249230_o
Title:
 The Creeper Man by Dawn Kurtagich

I already own The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich, and that sounds amazing but this one sounds so good! Again it sounds so creepy and the synopsis totally sold me! The cover is also so good and fits the theme of the book so well! I’ve read this this month, here’s my review!

Synopsis: There’s a man in the trees, a man with no eyes, but still he watches, that’s the surprise. Stay away from the woods, it couldn’t be clearer, but the trees are creeping nearer and nearer..Beware the creeper man.

 

13663656_10204964329867426_634236646_o
Title:
 Ashley Bell by Dean Koontz

My other half chose this for me, and again I love the sound of it! I know Dean Koontz is a good author, he’s one of my dad’s favourites and this will be my first book by him so I’m super excited to read it!

Synopsis: Bibi Blair is a fierce, funny, dauntless young woman – whose doctor says she has one year to live. She replies, ‘We’ll see.’ Her sudden recovery is a medical miracle. An enigmatic woman convinces Bibi that she escaped death so that she can save someone else. Someone named Ashley Bell. But who is Ashley Bell? And what exactly does she need saving from? Bibi’s obsession with finding Ashley sends her on the run from threats both mystical and worldly, including a rich and charismatic cult leader with terrifying ambitions.


Buy One Get One Free at WHSmiths:
Again bargain book buying haha! They had an offer on so I decided to take them up on it!

13633340_10204964320627195_1320505378_o
Title:
 This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

Recently this seems to have been everywhere! So many bookstagrammers and booktubers have been reading this and loving it so I decided to join in with it! I’ve heard such great things I can’t wait to read it!

Synopsis: Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city, a grisly metropolis where the violence has begun to create real and deadly monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the inhabitants pay for his protection. August just wants to be human, as good-hearted as his own father but his curse is to be what the humans fear. The thin truce that keeps the Harker and Flynn families at peace is crumbling, and an assassination attempt forces Kate and August into a tenuous alliance. But how long will they survive in a city where no one is safe and monsters are real…13632636_10204964328907402_377846295_o

Title: Dreamcatcher by Stephen King

Another addition to my Stephen King collection! My other half recommended this one to me, and I can’t resist a Stephen King book!

Synopsis: Twenty-five years ago, in their haunted hometown of Derry, Maine, four boys bravely stood together and saved a mentally challenged child from vicious local bullies. It was something that fundamentally changed them, in ways they could never begin to understand. These lifelong friends now with separate lives and separate problems make it a point to reunite every year for a hunting trip deep in the snowy Maine woods. This time, though, chaos erupts when a stranger suddenly stumbles into their camp, freezing, deliriously mumbling about lights in the sky. And all too quickly, the four companions are plunged into a horrifying struggle for survival with an otherworldly threat and the forces that oppose it…where their only chance of survival is locked into their shared past and the extraordinary element that bonds them all…

Other purchases:
I really have a book buying problem guys.

13621676_10204964318427140_781067796_o
Title:
 A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

I’ve been wanting to read this forever! I think it sounds so unique and interesting! I was so happy when they finally had it in stock! It’s so gorgeous too, always a plus. I love the setting of it and the idea of it, it’s so cool!

Synopsis: Most people only know one London; but what if there were several? Kell is one of the last Travelers magicians with a rare ability to travel between parallel Londons. There is Grey London, dirty and crowded and without magic, home to the mad king George III. There is Red London, where life and magic are revered. Then, White London, ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. But once upon a time, there was Black London…

13639467_10204964328947403_177255546_oTitle: Fated by Benedict Jacka

Again my other half picked this up since he thought it would be good for me! It definitely sounds right up my alley! It sounds fun and exciting, and once again the cover is beautiful. It’s also reviewed by Jim Butcher, and I love him, so it must be good!

Synopsis: Camden, North London. A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.

In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won’t sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you’re looking for, he might just be able to help. That’s if he’s not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.13662428_10204964318787149_399459481_o

Title: The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

I needed this book because I read Dorothy Must Die this month and it was AMAZING. I couldn’t put it down and I just had to pick up the sequel to read it straight away! It was also amazing (I read it as soon as I got it), and my review is here for it!

Synopsis: My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas. After a tornado swept through my trailer park, I ended up in Oz. But it wasn’t like the Oz I knew from books and movies. Dorothy had returned, but she was now a ruthless dictator. Glinda could no longer be called the Good Witch. And the Wicked Witches who were left? They’d joined forces as the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and they wanted to recruit me.

My mission? Kill Dorothy. Except my job as assassin didn’t work out as planned. Dorothy is still alive. The Order has vanished. And the home I couldn’t wait to leave behind might be in danger.

Somehow, across a twisted and divided land, I have to find the Order, protect the true ruler of Oz, take Dorothy and her henchmen down—and try to figure out what I’m really doing here.

13646984_10204964318547143_2063758430_o
Title:
 Dorothy Must Die Stories 1 by Danielle Paige

I love novella stories so when I saw this compendium of 3 stories I was instantly wanting to pick it up. I love this world and I can’t wait to read more about it and have back story!

Synopsis: These three prequel novellas to the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series follow the iconic characters from the beloved classic The Wizard of Oz as their lives intertwine to bring about the downfall of Oz. Dorothy begins a journey down a darker path. Glinda the Good Witch may not be so Good. And the Wizard realizes that Oz is his destiny. Kiss the land where troubles melt like lemon drops goodbye. Here there’s danger around every corner and magical shoes won’t be able to save you.

Long before Amy Gumm got swept away from a Kansas trailer park . . . Dorothy Gale received a mysterious package on the night of her 16th birthday: a pair of red high-heeled shoes. And with a knock of her heels, Dorothy returned to the magical land that made her a star—and Oz would never be the same again.
13692377_10205002068530869_1886559738_o
Title:
 Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

I’ve been waiting to get this for months now! It finally went on sale and I had to get it. I love anything relating to the war and this is set around then by the looks of it! Also the story itself sounds so interesting and unique, I can’t wait to get to it.

Synopsis: Experimented on by scientists during her childhood in a concentration camp, Yael escaped with the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only parts of her which always remain are the five tattooed wolves on her arm, one for each of the people she’s lost. Now she is intent on getting revenge and achieving her goal: to kill the Führer and change history forever. But to get close enough she must win an epic and gruelling motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo – disguised as someone else . . .

13720525_10205002068010856_162009125_o
Title:
 Into The Fire by Manda Scott

Reading the synopsis this kind of reminds me of I Am Pilgrim in the sense of there’s certain things happening at once and I loved that book so I was instantly interested. Again it’s history related and you know that I’m all for historical books no matter the context!

Synopsis: 2014: In the French city of Orléans, a man’s charred corpse is found in a burned-out hotel, stripped of all ID. Police captain Inès Picaut must hunt down his killer before others fall prey to the fire. She has only one clue: the name of a woman who has been dead for over five hundred years.
1429: Joan of Arc is taking the war to the English. They want her dead but the only way to reach her is through a fiercely loyal inner circle – until undercover spy Tomas Rustbeard finally earns her trust…
The myths of the past hold the key to the mystery of the present, but how many must die before the truth is laid bare?

13692365_10205002068050857_207654337_o
Title:
 Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

I’m really into murder mysteries and thrillers at the moment and this was actually recommended by the people working at Waterstones! They said it was a really good read so I hope it lives up to that!

Synopsis: Her perfect life is a perfect lie . . . Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiancé. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts . . .
When a documentary producer invites Ani to tell her side of the chilling and violent incident that took place when she was a teenager at the prestigious Bradley school, she hopes it will be an opportunity to prove how far she’s turned her life around since then. She’ll even let the production company film her lavish wedding, the final step in her transformation.
But as the wedding and filming converge, Ani’s past threatens to come back and haunt her. And as her immaculate veneer starts to crack, she is forced to question: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for – or, will it at long last, set Ani free?

13702258_10205002068610871_5279110_oTitle: The Dead by Charlie Higson

I finished The Enemy (the first book in this series) this month and I loved it so much, I had to get the next one to continue it!

Synopsis: Maxie, Blue and the rest of the Holloway crew aren’t the only kids trying to escape the ferocious adults who prey on them. Jack and Ed are best friends, but their battle to stay alive tests their friendship to the limit as they go on the run with a mismatched group of other kids – nerds, fighters, misfits. And one adult, Greg, a butcher, who claims he’s immune to the disease. They must work together if they want to make it in this terrifying new world. But when fresh disaster threatens to overwhelm London, they realize they won’t all survive…

13694288_10205002068370865_363121188_o
Title:
 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

I picked this up randomly from the shelf and once I read the synopsis I was sold. Like I said I’m loving thriller books at the minute and this one sounded so interesting. I like how it doesn’t give you too much information in the synopsis, but enough to tease you!

Synopsis: I was dead for 13 minutes. I don’t remember how I ended up in the icy water but I do know this – it wasn’t an accident and I wasn’t suicidal. They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you’re a teenage girl, it’s hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I’m sure of it. But that doesn’t mean they didn’t try to kill me. Does it?

13663628_10205086695726496_409389675_o.jpgTitle: On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

This book is actually gorgeous. I got it in hardback at half price (YESSSSSS) and I love Carrie so I had to get it! It sounds so good and I’m so excited to absorb myself in Carrie’s writing since I know how hard she’s worked on it!

Synopsis: Evie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty seven- year-old self and the door won’t open. Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow , some way, she may also find her way back to her long lost love…

13932324_10205086695766497_1536634891_o.jpg
Title:
 Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling

NEVER DID I THINK I’D BE ADDING A HARRY POTTER BOOK TO MY HAUL OMG. Yes I know, it’s a play not a book as such but I don’t care. It’s been preordered for months and I now finally own it!!!! I can’t wait to read it. A NEW HARRY POTTER BOOK OH MY LORD YES. Can you tell I’m happy?

Synopsis: It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

I hope you enjoyed my book haul! I know I know, I have a problem. I mean it could be worse right? I like books okay! Leave a comment with your book hauls, or if you’ve read any of the books on my haul at all!

Love,

Meggan x

Leave a Reply

