July Wrap Up!

Hi everyone!

I did pretty well this month at sticking to my TBR! (You can find that here!) I read some pretty great books this month, and to say I was out quite a lot in July, I’m very happy with the amount I read! Here’s my book wrap up for July:
13313406_10204737401354355_104396146_oTitle: Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Rating: ★★★★

Review: I’d heard really great things about this book and I’m so glad I decided to pick it up! I love retellings and this one is definitely one of the best ones I’ve read! I loved how the usual Wizard of Oz story was still there and this was set after the events people know so well. I loved the story and the characters, and it was genuinely so much better than I expected! My review is here if you want to read more detail!

13662428_10204964318787149_399459481_o


Title:
 The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

Rating: ★★★★

Review: This was such a great sequel, I still preferred Dorothy Must Die that little bit more but it was still brilliant! I loved how the characters all developed in this story, and how they all, especially Amy, developed into such unique people. The ending was also so brilliant that I NEED Yellow Brick War like now, oh my gosh. My full review is here if you wanted to look in more detail!

13340827_10204737400914344_1303786928_o


Title:
 The Enemy by Charlie Higson

Rating: ★★★★

Review: This was such a good book with such a great and unique concept. I loved that the main characters and the ‘heroes’ of the story was children, and that this included the characters having to grow up, as sad as that is, it shows that children can be just as important and clever as adults. The story was so brilliantly well written, with a perfect balance of horror and narrative. My full review will be up soon!

13334785_10204737400954345_1024110584_o

Title: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Now I’ve seen this film 3 times, and thought it was about time I read the book, so I was already prepared for it to ruin me. But not quite to the extent it did. It’s such a brilliantly wonderful story, and I couldn’t help but sob because the characters are just so perfect and wonderful and ugh. This book was just amazing and if you want to read something that will ruin you, I 10/10 recommend this. I’ll have a full review up soon!

13639709_10204964330227435_1744249230_o

Title: The Creeper Man by Dawn Kurtagich

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This was such a spur of the moment buy,but I absolutely loved it. It was such a unique story, I honestly don’t think I’ve ever read anything like it before. It was such a great story of personal demons and had an amazing horror element to it too! Definitely one of the best books I read this month! I’ll have a full review up later!

13647009_10204964329507417_287852332_o

 
Title: Say Her Name by Juno Dawson

Rating: ★★★★

Review: I really loved this book! It took a different turn to what I thought it would be, I was expecting an entirely horror novel, but it took the Bloody Mary legend into such a different story, I thought it was so well written and so clever! My review of it is here to read more in detail.

13900862_2074690682755062_1812481697_n


Title: The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater

Rating: ★★★★

Review: I’ve been meaning to read this FOREVER, and I’m so glad I finally got around to it! I loved this book so much, I genuinely didn’t expect it to be as good as it was. I loved how it focused on psychics and energy rather than magic, and the characters were all so good and I loved them all. I can’t wait to read the rest of the books! My full review is here!

13621901_10204964329467416_986159927_o


Title:
 Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I loved Cinder so much it was unreal, read my review of that here! I needed to read the next book so bad, and I finally picked it up and read it. I loved it so much! I loved the characters of Scarlet and Wolf, and how both stories linked in so well with Cinder. It was so good from start to finish, and I loved how the story developed, sequels are hard to write sometimes but Marissa Meyer has done amazing with this! I can’t wait to read Cress! My review will be up soon!

I hope you enjoyed my wrap up, I read some really great books this month! My TBR for next month will be up soon!

Leave a comment with the books you read this month, I’d love to read them!

Love,

Meggan x

Leave a Reply

