Recommendations · Reviews

The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige // Review

13662428_10204964318787149_399459481_o


Title:
 The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

Rating: ★★★★

Release Date: 31st March 2015

The Wicked Will Rise is the second book in the Dorothy Must Die series by Danielle Paige.

I really loved DMD and was super excited to read this book, and although I feel DMD was ever so slightly better, I still loved it.

One of my favourite parts of the book was how the story flowed so well from what happened at the end of the first book into this one. Sometimes with sequels I find they can be hard to continue smoothly but this one really did it justice.

I also really liked the development of each character in this, not only Amy, but also the change in the henchman of the Lion and Scarecrow. I thought that Danielle wrote them so beautifully that it really related back to the original story of Oz and made you believe that the two world’s were indeed once the same, rather than being two separate stories.

This book isn’t as thick as the first book, which is unusual for a sequel since they normally tend to get thicker as they go, but it definitely hardly affected the story.

It was so well paced and beautifully written, and the twists and turns were so cleverly marked out and created. I was on my toes the entire time and never once did I guess what was going to happen, it totally had me in its grip!

The ending was probably the best part for me because it was so amazing. I loved how it gave you a little bit of information to explain and not leave the reader too confused, but also left it without enough explanation that you’re begging for the next one!

I literally wanted to go to my bookshop and pick up Yellow Brick War right away! It was such a great ending, definitely exceeding DMD in that sense. Also the extra chapter of Yellow Brick War made me want it even more!

Overall it was a great and beautiful written book and a worthy sequel to such a brilliant first novel! I can’t wait for the next one!

2 thoughts on “The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige // Review

Leave a Reply

