The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater // Review

13900862_2074690682755062_1812481697_n.jpg
Title:
 The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: ★★★★★

Release Date: 18th September 2012

After reading the Wolves of Mercy Falls series when I was younger, I’ve always loved Maggie’s books. I decided to give The Raven Boys a try and I’m so unbelievably glad I did.

The Raven Boys is the first book in The Raven Cycle Quartet, and follows Blue Sargent, the daughter of a psychic. She befriends Ronan, Gansey, Adam and Noah, her ‘raven boy’s, in the hunt for legendary king Glendower.

First off I loved the unique story of this book. When I first read the synopsis I wasn’t quite sure what to expect or whether I’d even like it, but the story took such a different route than I expected and it made it so much better. I loved that the book focused on psychics and how they do what they do. It’s not very often that you get a book about psychics and not magic, since most books of that type focus more on it being magic than being about energy and ley lines etc.

I also loved the relationship between all of the characters. Each of the boys have such a individual personality and motive behind why they act the way they do and I loved that. It was nice as well for the story to not be focused mainly on romance, which is what a lot of YA books sometimes prioritise.

The development of the story was so well paced, it took it’s time to introduce the world and each character well (including the psychics and what they do). It was such a great book and the ending kept me on edge the entire time, I couldn’t put it down!

Maggie’s writing style is so perfect, and it was brilliant how she linked all the characters stories together in such a creative way. Even including multiple POV’s in the book too, it was so well linked and thought of to make it a truly unique story.

I loved this book, and I am so excited to get around to the rest of The Raven Cycle!

3 thoughts on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater // Review

  1. Pingback: July Wrap Up! – Between the Pages

  2. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey – 2016! – Between the Pages

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far! – Between the Pages

Leave a Reply

