Recommendations · Reviews

Say Her Name by Juno Dawson // Review

13647009_10204964329507417_287852332_o
Title:
Say Her Name by Juno Dawson

Rating: ★★★★

Release Date: 5th June 2014

I’ve been really interested in horror books recently and I saw this and was automatically interested.

Say Her Name tells the story of Bobbie and Naya, who decide to carry out the Bloody Mary ritual, and summon her spirit. They’re given five days to work out how to stop the curse, or else Mary is coming for them. And she won’t give up until the girls who summoned her disappear.

One of the first things I noticed about this book was how it was written so cleverly. I’ve never read any books by this author before but I was amazed at how well written it was. It’s not a very long book (only coming in at 260 pages), so I was very worried about how the full story would be told and resolved in such a short amount of pages.

The author did this so well though, and the setting was so immersive that I felt truly involved in the book throughout. Also the characters were so relatable, and although there was a kind of inevitable romance blossoming throughout, it never took the main focus away and the story was focused on the horror aspect which I loved.

I will say that it lost momentum a bit for me personally about halfway through, but once I got near the end I couldn’t read it quick enough. The ending is particularly spectacular and I love how the entire story played out.

It was such a different twist to the traditional ‘Bloody Mary’ story, and I must admit I was expecting it to be more horror filled than it was, but thinking about it now it definitely worked better like that. There was a good balance between the horror aspect and the narrative that was carrying out throughout the novel.

It’s a great little book to read, and definitely one to read if you’re interested in a different perspective of the Bloody Mary story. It was such a clever book, and if you find it a little slow in the middle like I did, I urge you to carry on because the end is so worth it!

It leaves you with your imagination to continue the rest of the story and I think that’s one of the best ways to leave a book. It was brilliant!

2 thoughts on “Say Her Name by Juno Dawson // Review

Leave a Reply

