Book Tags

The Fifty Bookish Questions Tag!

Hi everyone!

I know I’ve been very inactive on here for a while, it’s been a hectic couple of weeks! But I’m back now with another book tag! So here goes:

1. What was the last book you read?

The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

2. Was it a good one?

It was extremely good!

3. What made it good?

I loved the way the story was told, and the different point of view from the usual Oz story that is usually known!

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Definitely! But you’d need to read the first book in the series, Dorothy Must Die first.

How often do you read?

Basically all the time. Unless I’m asleep or out seeing friends and family. I read on transport, in my house, in my room, pretty much anytime I can read I spend reading.

Do you like to read?

I love to read, it’s the best way to escape and relax.

What was the last bad book you read?

Looking For Alaska by John Green. It wasn’t a bad book at all, but it was the most recent one I read that I wasn’t that much of a fan of!

What made you dislike it?

I just felt it was a little predictable and I wasn’t really a fan of the characters either.

Do you wish to be a writer?

A bit of yes and a bit of no. I’d love to write a book or something like that, but I don’t think I’d be very good at it! I’m studying journalism at university, so in a way I do want to be a writer yes!

Has any book ever influenced you greatly?

A lot of books have influenced me greatly, but most recently Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig really influenced me through dealing with my own battle with depression. It’s a gorgeous book with some beautiful quotes, I highly recommend it!

Do you read fan fiction?

I don’t!

Do you write fan fiction?

I don’t, but I appreciate all the people out there who do!

What’s your favourite book?

The Book Thief will always be my favourite book, it’s so amazing.

What’s your least favourite book?

Oooo, this is a hard one! I really didn’t like Remember Me by Christopher Pike. It was the only book I’ve ever read that I never finished!

Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a Kindle)?

I do like how you can carry a large amount of books in a small space on a Kindle, but I love physical books way too much to abandon them. I always buy physical books, I can’t resist them!

When did you learn to read?

I can’t actually remember! I just always remember being obsessed with books haha!

What is your favourite book you had to read in school?

In Year 10 of secondary school we had to read Of Mice and Men, and I loved it so much. I bought my own copy and the film because it was so good!

What is your favourite book series?

Tough choice! I have a few so here’s my Top 6: Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, Die For Me trilogy by Amy Plum, The Demon Trappers series by Jana Oliver, Harry Potter by J.K Rowling and Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.

Who is your favourite author?

SARAH J. MAAS. I literally can’t even deal with her perfection, don’t even get me started on her oh my gosh.

What is your favourite genre?

Probably Young Adult! I mostly read YA, but I also really love crime books, and horror! I’m particularly loving horror at the moment!

Who is your favourite character in a book series?

Jem from The Infernal Devices. I just love him so much, he’s so sweet and kind! Or Celaena from Throne of Glass, she’s every bit the baddass female protagonist I’d love to be!

Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

All the time! This is one of the main reasons I love to read, there’s nothing better than being taken out of your reality and transported into a different world!

Which book do you wish had a sequel?

The Host by Stephenie Meyer! It was so so so good, I loved it and actually bought it twice because someone never gave me back my first copy but it was too good not to own! I’d love to see what happens after the end of the book!

Which book do you wish didn’t have a sequel?

The Shining. Don’t get me wrong I did enjoy Doctor Sleep, but I just felt like it didn’t need the sequel! I felt The Shining was amazing enough by itself without the sequel.

How long does it take you to read a book?

It varies, depending on the time I have to read and also whether I like the book or not. If I have a lot of time to read and it’s a good book it can take me anywhere between 1-2 days to finish. However if I don’t have much time or it’s a book I’m not enjoying it can take me anywhere from weeks to months to get through!

Do you like when books become movies?

I do! I always worry about whether they’ll do a good job of it, because normally it’s a book that’s close to my heart so I don’t want them to ruin it! However if it’s done well I love seeing my favourite books come to life on screen!

Which book was ruined by it’s movie adaptation?

I only managed to watch half of the Vampire Academy film adaptation because I really didn’t like it. I love the Vampire Academy books by Richelle Mead, they’re one of my favourite series. But the film made it so different and ‘Mean Girls’-esque and I just didn’t like it at all.

Which movie has done a book justice?

I love The Hunger Games films! They are done so well in comparison to the books and I love how they were adapted for the big screen!

Do you read newspapers?

I do, I study Journalism at university so I get encouraged to keep up to date with the news, as awful as it seems to be recently.

Do you read magazines?

I do, I have a subscription to Kerrang Magazine because I love it.

Do you prefer newspapers or magazines?

Since I have a subscription to a magazine, I’ll have to say magazines.

Do you read while in bed?

In bed is probably where I get most of my reading done actually, I always read before I go to sleep to help me fall asleep! Unless it’s a great book then I normally can’t stop reading and stay up to finish it haha!

Do you read while on the toilet?

Guilty as charged. Like I said if I have time to read, I’m going to use it!

Do you read while in the car?

Yes! Especially if it’s a long trip somewhere I always make sure to have a book with me to keep me entertained!

Do you read while in the bath?

I don’t actually have baths very often, I shower so no! But even if I did I wouldn’t risk it, I’m so clumsy and I wouldn’t want to drop my book in the bath!

Are you a fast reader?

Yes I am, I always get told I am anyway!

Are you a slow reader?

If it’s a long book or a classic book I normally read slower to make sure I take all the information in!

Where is your favourite place to read?

In my room, or somewhere with a nice view, and nice and peaceful!

Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

No I’m normally absorbed in my book!

Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

I don’t need it to be, I can read pretty much anywhere (including with the TV on or music) since I get so absorbed into my book, but I do like to read in quiet every now and again! If it’s quiet there’s less chance of someone interrupting me!

Who gave you your love for reading?

A lot of my family love reading, but my mum probably gave me my love for it mainly! My nan and my auntie also influenced me too! They’ve always talked about books with me, and taken me to libraries since I was little!

What book is next on your list to read?

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes! I’m not ready to cry, even though I’ve seen the film 3 times.

When did you start to read chapter books?

I can’t remember when I started, but definitely for at least 10 years+!

Who is your favourite children’s book author?

Roald Dahl or Jacqueline Wilson! I read most of Roald Dahl’s books when I was little, he’s so amazing!

Which author would you most want to interview?

Cassandra Clare and I would ask so many questions about The Infernal Devices!

Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

I’d love to just spend time and be friends with Sarah J. Maas, I love her!

What book have you reread the most?

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer! I read it so much when it first came out!

Which books do you consider “classics”?

Books like Dracula, Frankenstein, Alice in Wonderland etc..so books that were written in the 19th/20th Century mostly!

Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

I loved reading Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck in school, I love the moral of it and the friendship in there so I’d probably say that! But in general books with good morals, or coming of age stories too (e.g Perks of Being a Wallflower).

Which books should be banned from all schools?

I don’t think any should be banned, but I wouldn’t recommend putting the Fifty Shades trilogy by E.L.James in schools. Definitely not for younger readers!

I really enjoyed doing this tag! It was so fun to think of answers for the questions, I loved it! I wasn’t tagged to do it but thought I’d give it a try and it was so fun!

If you want to do this tag then consider yourself tagged!

Leave a comment with your thoughts on this tag, and links to your own versions!

Love,

Meggan x

Leave a Reply

