Recommendations · Reviews

Cinder by Marissa Meyer // Review

13575623_10204900609074446_1709772660_o
Title:
 Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Rating: ★★★★★

Release Date: 3rd January 2012

Cinder is Marissa Meyer’s debut novel, and is a wonderful retelling of the traditional fairytale, Cinderella.

The story takes place in futuristic New Beijing and follows Cinder, a mechanic and cyborg who is treated awfully by her stepmother and stepsister. It’s such a unique retelling and I loved it.

I love retellings anyway, I love how authors take old traditional stories that have been told all across the world and make them their own in ways that no one has ever thought of before and this is exactly that.

Marissa Meyer is so genius at how she tells the story that it constantly keeps you on the edge of your seat and truly makes you want to read the book right up until the point of finishing it. I loved the characters of Cinder and Prince Kai and how they interacted together. Cinder was created in such a way that I really felt for her character and went on the emotional trip that she did as she figured out certain thing about her life!

The creation and development of Lunar Queen Levana is also so brilliant. You really learn to hate her and she’s written in such a way that you can tell exactly what the author wanted to get out of that, and it works brilliantly. Especially when you compare Cinder’s kind heart and Levana’s hate-filled one, the contrast works so well.

I also really loved the introduction of the disease, letumosis, because it added a different element and really made the situation that Cinder is in hit home. It also helped to explain a lot of Prince Kai’s actions and I just thought it was so cleverly linked into the story that it worked well with every other aspect of the novel.

This book was nothing like I expected, and it completely exceeded everything I was hoping for! I loved it’s uniqueness, the characters and the writing style. Marissa Meyer really outdid herself. I can’t wait to read the rest of the Lunar Chronicles now, I hope they’re just as good because I really couldn’t put this book down!

I loved it that much that I’m going to try to get the next book, Scarlet, this week because I can’t wait!

What did you think of this book? Leave a comment with your thoughts!

Love,

Meggan x

2 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer // Review

Leave a Reply

