Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig // Review

13460773_10204842669105983_736765811_o
Title:
Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig

Rating: ★★★★★

Release Date: 31st December 2015

Reasons to Stay Alive is all about how best to make the most of your life no matter what you go through.

The author, Matt Haig talks about his battle with depression and anxiety, whilst also including tips on how he finally beat the ‘black dog’ and gained a new perspective on life.

I was bought this by my best friend as I had just recently been diagnosed with depression myself, so she bought me this in hopes that I could find strength from his words and hoped it would help me in my own battle.

I can honestly say that it was one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. Matt Haig tells his story with such rawness, that it really is something so relatable. I frequently found myself nodding at something he had written and I even bought post it notes so I could tag all the quotes I loved.

You could really tell that he held nothing back and although it starts off quite hard hitting, the story of his recovery is truly inspirational. He doesn’t sugar coat any part of it, meaning that you know what is in the book is the complete truth.

I also loved how he didn’t just include his story, but other little chapters along the way such as ‘Why depression is hard to understand’ and ‘Things depression says to you’. Not only do these break up the hard story that he is telling but it allows you to relate these parts back to yourself or at least really understand why, at the time of his really bad days, he thought the things he did. It helps to give as much insight as possible into a depressive’s brain, which is something that is rarely attempted these days.

This book also contains ways to help yourself, such as the section on Reasons to Stay Alive. This section gives 10 reasons why the author himself decided he needed to stay alive on this earth, and it’s so inspiring hearing him talk so positively about his life now compared to how it was at the start of the book.

There is also a section on this where he asked people to tweet him their reasons and this in itself was so wonderful and made me smile. It’s so interactive with the audience and brings it home that there is hope and proves just how much hope their is for mental illnesses.

I loved how he addressed the stigma attached to mental health issues, and even gave reasons as to why they shouldn’t be overlooked. It’s so rare for mental illnesses to be talked about so openly, and I really commend Matt Haig for being so brave about it all.

The way he has written this book is beautiful in itself and I really think that whether you have a mental health issue, know someone with one or just want a good book to read, that you should definitely read this one.

I’m going to upload another post soon on quotes from the book because they’re something I need to remember and so many people out there need to hear.

I recommend this book so much, I can’t say it’s cured my depression but I don’t think that was ever the intention of the book, because there isn’t really any cure. What I can say though, is it’s helped me understand it more and it really does help hearing someone else’s story. It’s a beautiful book and I hope it inspires many more people in the world to fight against their illness.

Quote from Reasons to Stay Alive:
“Depression is a dark cloud passing across the sky, but – if that is the metaphor – you are the sky. You were there before it. And a cloud can’t exist without the sky, but the sky can exist without the cloud.”

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Love,

Meggan x

One thought on “Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig // Review

  1. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey – 2016! – Between the Pages

Leave a Reply

