May Book Haul!

Hi everyone!

So this month I tried not to buy books because well I already have a load to get through and thought I better get through those first! Compared to most months I did actually do quite well book-buying wise, even if I still bought a few haha! I got a few from a charity shop, a few on the Amazon 3 paperbacks for £10 and a few from Waterstones! I’m also sorry that this post is going to be slightly long!

Waterstones Book Haul

13334303_10204737401634362_410539623_oTitle:  Dear World, How Are You? by Toby Little

I loved the idea of this and I thought it was such a cute book! It was also signed by Toby himself at Waterstones so I couldn’t not! It’s nice to see such young people wanting to investigate the world and as a fellow Sheffielder, it was a must buy!

Synopsis: With the help of his mum, Toby started handwriting and posting letters to everyone from research scientists in Antarctica to game-keepers in Chad and even the Pope. Not only did Toby achieve his goal but the world wrote back.

Dear World, How Are You? is a collection of the most fascinating and heart-warming letters he sent and received. It shows that the world is only as big as your imagination and is full of potential friends, waiting to be discovered, no matter where you live.

 

13313406_10204737401354355_104396146_oTitle:  Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Page

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book and it’s been on my need-to-buy list for a while! It wasn’t until I read the opening line that I was completely sold to buy it. Also I think the synopsis for this book is one of the most intriguing things I’ve ever read! Here it is:

Synopsis: I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a road of yellow brick—but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas. I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I’ve been trained to fight. And I have a mission: Remove the Tin Woodman’s heart. Steal the Scarecrow’s brain. Take the Lion’s courage. And—Dorothy must die.

 

13334379_10204737401394356_1675339726_o

Title:  Book of Lies by Teri Terry

My other half pointed this book out to give it a look and it does sound very interesting! I love finding books that aren’t highly talked about, normally that’s how you find the best books so I’m excited to read it!

Synopsis: Tell a lie and the darkness will find you.
Quinn and Piper are twins, but they’ve never met. A tragic event brings
them together, and draws them into a family curse that stretches across centuries.
One twin can command the darkness; the other could hold the key to breaking the curse.
But when lies become truth and truth looks like lies, who can you believe?

13323884_10204737401434357_1193045210_oTitle:  Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

This was released for World Book Day 2016 and is only a small book of 96 pages but I absolutely love Rainbow Rowell. I found this for £1 in Waterstones and I just had to pick it up. I think Rainbow Rowell is such an amazing author and this short story will hopefully live up to that!

Synopsis: If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does.

What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

13334260_10204737401234352_1975455386_o

 

Title:  642 Tiny Things to Write About

When I saw this I just had to get it. Writing is my biggest passion (other than reading), and this book is filled with tiny little writing activities to help give you ideas on what to write about! I love this idea because I struggle to think of ideas sometimes and writing helps to distract me which is something I’m really needing at the moment, and it’s small so I can easily take it in my bag!

Amazon Book Haul!

13334785_10204737400954345_1024110584_oTitle:  Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This is one of the most talked about books at the moment due to the film set to come out soon, and when I saw it on the 3 for £10, it was calling to me! I think the idea of it sounds so interesting and I’ve heard it makes a lot of people cry. Now I’m not a fan of crying but if there’s a book that I can love that much it makes me cry, I’m always up for that! I can’t wait to read it and see the film!

Synopsis: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

 

13340367_10204737401194351_1883085222_oTitle:  Dissolution by C. J. Sansom

One of my main interests in life is history ever since I was little and my collection of history books is constantly growing and growing. I saw the 6th book of this series in Waterstones a while ago and was gutted I didn’t have the rest of them, so I was very happy when I saw the first one of the set was in the 3 for £10! It sounds so interesting and I cannot wait to read it. Also the cover is just gorgeous.

Synopsis: It is 1537, a time of revolution that sees the greatest changes in England since 1066
Henry VIII has proclaimed himself Supreme Head of the Church and the country is waking up to savage new laws, rigged trials and the greatest network of informers ever seen. Under the order of Thomas Cromwell, a team of commissioners is sent through the country to investigate the monasteries. There can only be one outcome: the monasteries are to be dissolved.

But on the Sussex coast, at the monastery of Scarnsea, events have spiralled out of control. Cromwell’s Commissioner Robin Singleton, has been found dead, his head severed from his body. His horrific murder is accompanied by equally sinister acts of sacrilege – a black cockerel sacrificed on the altar, and the disappearance of Scarnsea’s Great Relic.

Dr Matthew Shardlake, lawyer and long-time supporter of Reform, has been sent by Cromwell into this atmosphere of treachery and death. But Shardlake’s investigation soon forces him to question everything he hears, and everything that he intrinsically believes . . .

 

13334531_10204737400674338_334945151_oTitle:  Mr Mercedes by Stephen King

Again it was in the 3 for £10, but I just love Stephen King’s books so so much, so that’s mainly my reason for buying it. You can never have too many Stephen King books! Especially at a cheap price!

Synopsis: A cat-and-mouse suspense thriller featuring Bill Hodges, a retired cop who is tormented by ‘the Mercedes massacre’, a case he never solved.

Brady Hartsfield, perpetrator of that notorious crime, has sent Hodges a taunting letter. Now he’s preparing to kill again.

Each starts to close in on the other in a mega-stakes race against time.

 

13340827_10204737400914344_1303786928_oTitle:  The Enemy by Charlie Higson

My other half also pointed this one out to me, and before I read the blurb I wasn’t expecting to like to I’m not going to lie. Then I read the blurb and it sounds so brilliant. I love books like this and this one sounds like such a different take on zombie books that I can’t wait to get it!

Synopsis: When the sickness came, every parent, police officer, politician – every adult fell ill. The lucky ones died. The others are crazed, confused and hungry.

Only children under fourteen remain, and they’re fighting to survive.

Now there are rumours of a safe place to hide. And so a gang of children begin their quest across London, where all through the city – down alleyways, in deserted houses, underground – the grown-ups lie in wait.

But can they make it there – alive?

Pre-ordered Book Haul!

13348677_10204737402114374_1617704306_nTitle: The Last Star by Rick Yancey

I pre-ordered this book as soon as I finished The Infinite Sea, and got it the day it came out and I literally can’t wait to read it! In fact I have put it on my June TBR because I just can’t wait to read it and see how the trilogy is wrapped up!

Synopsis: The enemy is Other. The enemy is us. They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves . . . or saving what makes us human.

 

13318444_10204737401554360_1988210075_nTitle: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This is my most anticipated book that I got this month and I haven’t even read it yet. As soon as I finished ACOTAR I needed this book to be released. I got it the day it came out and it’s also on my June TBR! I can’t wait! Also can we just mention, how gorgeous are Sarah J. Maas’s books???

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court – but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms – and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future – and the future of a world cleaved in two.

 

Other Hauls!

13324167_10204737400874343_1073792523_oTitle: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

I found this from Bluebell Wood Hospice charity shop for only 25p! It’s been highly talked about recently and I’ve always been curious as to what it’s about so thought for 25p I might as well get! It’s in brilliant condition too!

Synopsis: Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings. He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour’s dog murdered he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down.

 

13324138_10204737400834342_237347217_oTitle: The Gamal by Ciaran Collins

I found this in Poundland for only £1 (obviously haha) and I checked reviews and it sounded so good! It’s also such a gorgeous cover that I just had to.

Synopsis: Charlie has a story to tell, about his best friends Sinéad and James and the bad things that happened. But he can’t tell it yet, at least not ’til he’s worked out where the beginning is. Because is the beginning long ago when Sinéad first spoke up for him after Charlie got in trouble at school for the millionth time? Or was it later, when Sinéad and James followed the music and found each other? Or was it later still on that terrible night when something unspeakable happened and someone chose to turn a blind eye?

This is the story of the dark heart of an Irish village, of how daring to be different can be dangerous and how there is nothing a person will not do for love. This is the story of the Gamal.

 

13334487_10204737401154350_309902492_oTitle: Messenger of Fear by Michael Grant

Again I picked it up for £1 from Poundland and I know Michael Grant is a great author so I’m excited to read this! Once again the cover pulled me in because I love the colour and simplicity of it.

Synopsis: When Mara wakes up lying in a field of dead grass and shrouded by a heavy mist, she can remember nothing but her name.  At first she thinks she is dead. But then she meets him: young, good-looking but pale almost to translucence and dressed all in black. He is the Messenger of Fear. But what does he want with her? And what is the significance of the dead girl in the coffin?

The Messenger sees the darkness in young hearts, and the damage it inflicts upon the world. If the wicked go unpunished, he offers them a game. Win, and they can go free. Lose, and they will live out their greatest fear. But why has Mara been chosen to accompany the Messenger and what secrets are lurking in her memories that are just out of reach?

13313532_10204737400714339_645626505_o

Wow that was a long post! If you made it to the end then thank you for not giving up and continuing to read it! I’m so excited to read all the books I got this month, luckily enough I had just enough to put them on my shelf!

 

What books did you get this month? Leave a comment, I’d love to know!

Also have you read any of the ones I’ve bought?

Love,

Meggan x

2 thoughts on “May Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

