Monthly Wrap Ups · Reviews

May Wrap Up!

Hi everyone!

May is nearly over so it means it’s time for a wrap up of all the books I read this month. I’m now free from uni stress so it means I have more time to read finally! I also had 2 weeks away from home this month, so I made sure to get a lot of books read then. It was a very successful month (and a very Cassandra Clare orientated month), I managed to read 11 books, which is the most I’ve actually read in a month since the start of this year!

The books I read were:

  1. Attack on Titan Vol. 2 by Hajime Isayama
  2. Attack on Titan Vol. 3 by Hajime Isayama
  3. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  4. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  5. City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
  6. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  7. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
  8. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
  9. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
  10. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
  11. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

13323972_10204720658975806_380967308_o

 

Title:  Attack on Titan Vol. 2 by Hajime Isayama

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I just love this manga series, the development of the story is so good and not too fast that you feel like you can’t keep up! Also I still love the art style, I think it’s so nice to read and adds so much to the overall look of the manga!

 

13313527_10204720658935805_645139404_o

 

Title: Attack on Titan Vol. 3 by Hajime Isayama

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: The character development throughout this manga in particular is so good, and really pulls you into the story! I can’t wait to carry on with the rest and see how it develops past the anime we have so far!

 

13324206_10204720659015807_1239323282_o

 

Title:  Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Rating: ★★★★

Review: When I originally bought this book it had a lot of mixed reviews and now I can kind of understand why. The plot does have a lot of similar aspects to other YA books, and some parts do make you sit there and try to remember where you’ve read something similar before, but it’s still such a great book. As similar as some aspects are, the story itself is so good and I loved the ending so much. It kept me entertained and guessing along the way that I can’t wait to read Glass Sword. Yes some parts are similar but that’s sometimes a common theme with YA and doesn’t make it any less enthralling!

13288360_10204720660375841_1465704428_o

 

Title: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: This is actually a re-read for me since I read the first 5 books in The Mortal Instruments a couple of years ago but needed to read the last one. I’m so glad I re-read them because this book is so good! Cassandra Clare writes so well and her level of fantasy just takes every other book of that genre and steps it up a notch.

13340941_10204720659895829_1161812243_o

 

Title: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Again a re-read but it was so nice to refresh myself on what happened here. I read this book in a day because I just couldn’t put it down, and after how City of Bones ended it was a perfect pick up from then on!

 

 

13313648_10204720659775826_2657072_o

Title: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Re-read again. I can honestly say that out of all The Mortal Instruments, this one is my ultimate favourite (a close second would be Heavenly Fire). I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. I loved having Idris as the centre of the story, and how the story was less focused on Clary and Jace this time and more on the relationship between all the characters. Also Simon was just brilliant in this and the plot was so much better than any of the rest, I just loved every minute of this book. This is such a great example of why I love reading and I was completely sucked into their world!

13321083_10204720659655823_70410489_o

 

Title: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★

Review: Re-read. To say this followed City of Ashes, it was kinda disappointing. It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy it, it’s just the story was a bit slower to take hold and the development of it seemed a little slow to get going. I know this is technically the start of another trilogy (it’s a series of 6 books, but with two trilogies being set at different times), so it’s understandable it had to set everything up for the next 2 books but it just didn’t take my fancy compared to the rest as much as it should!

13324217_10204720659575821_111137654_o

 

Title: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: The final book in my re-reading marathon this month and I loved this too. I didn’t realise how much this book had stuck with me until I read it and realised I already remembered most of the plot for it! I loved Cassie’s writing in this one, and the development between Sebastian, Jace and Clary, it really helped me become more involved with each character compared to the other books in the series.

13288650_10204720659375816_1328537378_o

 

Title: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I hadn’t read this one yet out of the set and I can’t believe I waited so long to! It was brilliant and such a great ending to the series. The ending was a bit unusual right at the end, but I’m sure that links on the The Infernal Devices, the prequel trilogy. Overall it was a great end, and the story was so well-developed I loved it!

 

13313635_10204720659255813_139655577_o

Title: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: As a prequel to The Mortal Instruments I wasn’t sure how I’d feel getting used to an entirely new group of characters but this book was everything I ever wanted. The time it was set in was so good and everything was so accurate to it. I couldn’t read it quick enough but also didn’t want to finish it! I loved all the characters and the curiosity between them all, and THE ENDING WHAT. I just can’t explain how good it was. I’m so glad I read it and I can’t wait to read the rest!

13288248_10204720659175811_1432676088_o.jpg

Title: Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: I so wish I could give these books more than 5 stars because they’re amazing!!! JEM. I love Jem so much, I know most people love Will but Jem just has my heart. The pace of this book was just amazing and exactly what was needed to follow on from Clockwork Angel. I love how the story is progressing and how different it is compared to TMI! The character development is also so good and I find myself loving each character which is rare for books these days! We learn so much more about the characters this book and it explains so much and I love how the different parts of the stories are falling into place. I can’t wait to read the final book.

That’s it for my May Wrap Up! I had such a good reading month and all the books I read were so amazing, I love The Mortal Instruments so much! My June TBR should be up this week too! Let me know if you have any recommendations!

Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned? What did you think of them? Please let me know in the comments!

Love,

Meggan x

2 thoughts on “May Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

